Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
These were amazing! and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was good. A little too sweet for my tastes though, and it was quite sticky on the teeth. Next time I would reduce the sugar by a 1/4 cup and add some more lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
First review ever for me, but I just had to! I loved these lemon bars!! Just made them tonight and they came out perfect! It really is a perfect blend of sweet and tart with the buttery taste of the crust. Delicious! Since my oven often cooks faster, I had to take my crust out at 15 minutes and the custard at 20 1/2 minutes to avoid overcooking and burning. I may try to add more lemon juice or zest next time since my hubby likes his lemon bars on the tart side. Thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe! Really appreciated the clear and detailed instructions- they really helped. Considerably easy to make and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
These lemon bars are amazing! They were gone in a day with my two teens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
My kids LUV!!! These lemon bars. I tried Chef Jeff step by step one night. The lemon bars were gone faster then it took me to make them. So I told the kids id make some more. I did trying to cut corners ( I didn't want to go to the grocery store.) I used the lemon in a bottle and I omitted the powder sugar in the crust. Wow talk about a HUGE difference My Kids said Please don't change Chef Jeff Lemon bars lol. they don't taste right. So thanks for a quick and wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Chef John you are awesome! Followed recipe as stated its perfect. You have to double it and use a 9 x 13 as they don't last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I've been on the hunt for a great lemon bar/square recipe. I've tried many and this one by far is perfection. Delicate flaky crust and the perfect balance of tart and sweetness. If you want a homerun, this one will hit it out of the park! Thank you for sharing Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
These lemon bars were amazingly good! My family devoured these up quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I've been making these for a lot of years. This recipe is easy to make and uses "on-hand" ingredients. I make meringue with 2 egg whites, spread on top, put under Broiler until toasty brown. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie De Leon

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ace, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I just finished it but with no sugary top ;( maybe I overbaked it. I used brown sugar instead of white as well. ;( on the bright side, it smells delicious. Very impatient having to wait for it to cool! Can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo Suan Chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States