Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I've tried other lemon bar recipes and they end up too sweet or not lemony enough. This one is the perfect balance. Have received rave reviews from friends and coworkers when I've brought these to gatherings. You don't have to change a thing about this recipe and they come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been making lemon bars for years and these are the easiest and tastiest.excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
The crust on top is so good. These are the only lemon bars I will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Came together easily. Per reviewer's suggestion, I added 1 tsp. of baking powder to the crust and filling and got great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
The Best EVER! I've made and eaten lemon bars for years, looking for the best one. This is it! Like some others, I reduced the granulated sugar to about 3/4 cup. Lets the lemon tartness come through. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
these's were good very nice taste and tecture how ever the lemon filling was not thick enough there was just a very thin layer of lemon not enough for me but they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Oh my... these are SINFULLY good! I followed the recipe, but I only had granulated sugar on hand, which I tried pulverizing with a mortar and pestle. They came out a little too sweet, but still oooey and gooey and with a wonderful crust!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my first time to make lemon bars and it's a success! I followed the recipe and didn't change a thing. Love this recipe, thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These are fantastic! I love how the lemon layer somehow forms a bit of a crust on top. It allows a dusting of powdered sugar to stay on top, and not soak in, as has happened with every other lemon bar I've ever made! The shortbread crust is just perfect. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan, because a small pan is never enough :) (**next time I will add a bit more lemon and lemon zest because I love very tart citrus flavor, but they're delicious as written)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made them exactly as per Chef John's recipe & they turned out perfect! My husband thought they were a bit too sweet for his taste so maybe next time I'll reduce the sugar &/or increase the lemon. But the crust was perfect, the custard developed the white glaze Chef John mentions, and the timing was just right. I topped them off with some black raspberries I'd just picked & it gave them an extra little festive touch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States