Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! In fact, I've been looking long & hard for the best meatball recipe and this is it. By far the best Italian meatballs I've ever made and I will be making these from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Perfect. I made it the first time with just beef and pork and it was awesome! Today I decided to step it up by tripling the recipe and using 2 pounds each of beef, pork and veal. The tripled recipe yielded about about 70 good sized meatballs and the flavor was amazing! The first batch froze well and I don't see any reason these will not perform just as well. I paired these with Chef John's Tomato Sauce for a wonderful Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Everyone in my family loved these meatballs! I followed the directions for the most part but deviated slightly with the seasonings- I took the advice of another reviewer and increased the Italian seasonings to 1/2 tsp of basil, 1/2 tsp of oregano, and 1/4 tsp of thyme. I used fresh parsley and garlic and. Tsp of sugar. Wow! These were the best recipe I have followed on AR and will make these again and again. I will cut back on the amount of salt used- they were a tiny bit too salty for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This has become our go-to recipe for meatballs. We make huge batches, bake them all off and then freeze by the dozen in food saver bags. That way when we want some we just pop the entire food saver bag in the boiling water along with our spaghetti to reheat, heat some sauce and Manga manga!! The one change we make is that we do brown them in a skillet first. It gives them a nice brown color and crust. I know Chef John says you can skip this step - and you can - but it really shouldn't be skipped in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I doubled the seasonings. These meatballs are amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
These are by far the BEST meatballs I have ever had, never mind made. The first time I made them, we ate half of them right off the pan (we were "tasting" them). I have made them with olive oil and with canola oil. We liked the canola oil version more, but that is just personal taste. I'm actually making them again for dinner tonight ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My mother used to make the most delicious Italian meatballs, but as they were fried, I rarely make them. Seeing that this recipe bakes the meatballs, and was rated five stars, I had to try them. I used hot venison sausage with regular ground venison, and other than omitting the red pepper flakes, followed the recipe. Absolutely delicious! My husband said they were every bit as good as my mother's fried version. I froze the leftovers, and just pop some in my spaghetti sauce when needed, but we have thawed some just to eat alone and they are every bit as good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TJBIGEL1
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Awesome!!!! My daughter and husband made them. Instead of Italian seasoning we used Tastefully Simple Garlic Bread Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NurseCarol1974
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe three times and got great reviews each time. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I used bulk hot Italian sausage for the ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseCarol1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
They were delicious. However, I only put them in the fridge for half an hour. When I was rolling them up into balls, the meat seemed a little watery. Other than that, my family loved it and I plan on definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States