Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Terrific. I usually don't make meatballs, because my husband constantly raves about his italian mothers, so I figured why bother. Well, now my granddaughter asked me to make meatballs, so I decided to give these a try. Let me just say my husband actually said "these are the best meatballs he ever ate" and the whole family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great flavor but they were too tough ... They need a lot more bread crumbs !! I was able to soften them up by cooking them in sauce for 4 hours but they still had a funny texture and lacked juiciness ?? sorry chef john I love all your recipes and cook a ton of them and they rock but I'm not a fan of this one ... I'm gonna stick with my recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made these meatballs for my husband's birthday and they were fantastic! I omitted the red pepper flakes (personal choice),used dried parsley instead of fresh and used 1-3/4 pounds of 20% ground beef (it's all I had in the house) and they still came out great. I will definitely be making these again, I can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe to the T and these meatballs came out with the texture of hamburger balls. 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs is nowhere near enough to give the meatballs a fork tender texture. I even used a Sous vide oven set to 145F to ensure the meatballs did not get over cooked. If you want hamburger balls follow this recipe. If you want fork tender meatballs use atleasst 1/2 cup to 1 cup of breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Thank You! This is a keeper. The only exception i made was to use all beef. As soon as they came out of the oven, I dipped one in the sauce simmering on the stove. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Ricupero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really, really good and I usually don't care much for meatballs. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this last night and it was unbelievable!!! I added more garlic and the same amount of parsley. Used venison, beef,pork and veal. Used or homemade sauce made from heirloom tomatoes we grow. Flavor! Flavor! Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
These are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made these delicious meatballs as per recipe w/ a few modifications that were due to lack of ingredients. I used pork sausage (I use it in my spaghetti sauce too) and used garlic and Italian herbs to season it. I mixed it with ground beef. I didn't have bread crumbs so I used panko and let it soak in a little milk. Then, I added the onion and garlic and seasonings. I added the meat, egg and made the meatballs. The mixture held together beautifully. Once baked, these were the best meatballs I've had! Great recipe! Maybe next time, I'll have all the ingredients on hand :) I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States