Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marcosheller
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These meatballs were awesome! I added more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for, left out the red pepper, and used beef broth instead of milk. They were a big hit and I even posted a picture! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are FANTASTIC meatballs! I used meatloaf mix, b/c it was cheaper (believe it or not) than buying the beef and pork seperately. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs instead of plain and dried parsley in place of the fresh. Followed the recipe exactly otherwise and would not change a thing next time. I was scared b/c the mixture was so soft (even after refrigeration), but I proceeded on, and I am so glad I didn't add extra breadcrumbs like I wanted to...these held their shape and were so moist, tender, flavorful and delicious...one of the best I've made/eaten! I used my large cookie scoop and got 26 out of this recipe. My family RAVED over these...even my 10 month old twins couldn't get enough, lol. Seriously, these are sooooo good! I will def be using this recipe over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Fantastic recipe - made GREAT meatballs sandwiches! I love the red pepper flakes, they gives the meatballs a little added punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made Chef John's meatloaf a week or so ago and it was quite tasty which made me excited to try his meatball recipe. The bread crumbs I used in this recipe were made from homemade garlic-butter croutons and I cut back on the salt just a bit. To make uniform meat balls, I used my small cookie scoop. After baking my meatballs, I drained the fat off of them and added them to a homemade marinara and let them sit in the sauce for 20 minutes or so before I served them on pasta. The family really thought these were quite good. They held up well (to both cooking in the oven and sitting in the marinara) and had a nice flavor. Next time, I'd double the italian seasoning but that's really just personal to our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
CJ's Italian Meatballs Haiku: "I can't believe it. These beat 'Meatball Nirvana' And they held up too!" So my biggest praise for these meatballs is that after I made a double-batch, w/o changing the recipe, I froze them into weekly portions, but after thawing a handful of them in sauce last night, I couldn't have been more delighted that they held their meatball shape and didn't fall apart! So I don't know what of CJ's method, or ingredients, resulted in a firm (oh yes, and scrumptious!) meatball, but I think this recipe has replaced AR's 'Meatball Nirvana' in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My husband hates italian food, but he will eat it occasionally for me and the kids. He LOVED these meatballs!! He actually went back for 2nds and 3rds!! Thank you Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
My Son chose this recipe for one of his cooking course categories, so he had to follow the recipe to a tee. First of all it was fun to watch him do this all by himself. But he did a great job and the meatballs turned out amazing! Would not change the recipe one bit. But we did used the basic ideas of this recipe to make burgers. Whoa, loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Best meatballs ever! These were delicious and hit the spot for the hubs who was craving spaghetti & meatballs. Instead of using plain ground pork I used groung italian sausage (mild). After baking them I let them simmer in marinara with sliced italian sausage to meld the flavors. We had leftover meatballs so made meatball subs for lunch the next day. Even better the second day. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This recipe is the BEST recipe for meatballs I've ever used. I couple the meatballs with Vhef John's Roasted Tomato (pasta) sauce and it's a '10'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe is perfect!! The meatballs held together very well, perfectly spiced!! I scooped with a cookie scoop to make sure all meatballs were even sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States