Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made Chef John's meatloaf a week or so ago and it was quite tasty which made me excited to try his meatball recipe. The bread crumbs I used in this recipe were made from homemade garlic-butter croutons and I cut back on the salt just a bit. To make uniform meat balls, I used my small cookie scoop. After baking my meatballs, I drained the fat off of them and added them to a homemade marinara and let them sit in the sauce for 20 minutes or so before I served them on pasta. The family really thought these were quite good. They held up well (to both cooking in the oven and sitting in the marinara) and had a nice flavor. Next time, I'd double the italian seasoning but that's really just personal to our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcosheller
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These meatballs were awesome! I added more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for, left out the red pepper, and used beef broth instead of milk. They were a big hit and I even posted a picture! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
CJ's Italian Meatballs Haiku: "I can't believe it. These beat 'Meatball Nirvana' And they held up too!" So my biggest praise for these meatballs is that after I made a double-batch, w/o changing the recipe, I froze them into weekly portions, but after thawing a handful of them in sauce last night, I couldn't have been more delighted that they held their meatball shape and didn't fall apart! So I don't know what of CJ's method, or ingredients, resulted in a firm (oh yes, and scrumptious!) meatball, but I think this recipe has replaced AR's 'Meatball Nirvana' in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are FANTASTIC meatballs! I used meatloaf mix, b/c it was cheaper (believe it or not) than buying the beef and pork seperately. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs instead of plain and dried parsley in place of the fresh. Followed the recipe exactly otherwise and would not change a thing next time. I was scared b/c the mixture was so soft (even after refrigeration), but I proceeded on, and I am so glad I didn't add extra breadcrumbs like I wanted to...these held their shape and were so moist, tender, flavorful and delicious...one of the best I've made/eaten! I used my large cookie scoop and got 26 out of this recipe. My family RAVED over these...even my 10 month old twins couldn't get enough, lol. Seriously, these are sooooo good! I will def be using this recipe over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Amazing!! Made these to add to my spaghetti sauce and they were delicious exactly as written! We froze half of them and I can't wait to use them for meatball subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wow. This recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe to a T and I wasn't disappointed. These meatballs were intended for sub sandwiches with marinara, but after tasting them fresh out of the oven, I felt like I was doing an injustice to this fine specimen of meat by slopping marinara over it. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be using this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made these mostly as written though I halved the recipe for my small family. They were the tastiest meatball I've ever tried! I chose to use all ground beef instead of with pork, and used 93% lean for a healthier choice. I loved that this didn't require the pan browning first. We ate these plain without a sauce with herb roasted potatoes and a salad, and it was such a tasty meal. The meatballs were very moist with a perfect texture. I'll make these from now on, and will also add these to my spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These tasted really good and were super easy to make. Just a couple of things: I think next time I'll use maybe a 1/3 cup of milk as they were almost too juicy to form into balls. Also, next time I will try baking them with a rack in the pan as they really did make a lot of grease and I think they would taste better without sitting in it. Third, I wish they would have browned up a little better. I even kept them in the oven for a few more mintutes at 450 and that didn't help. But, again, the best tasting meatballs I've ever made. Nothing wrong with the recipe as written, just personal preference, a five star recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I just took these out of the oven and they were swimming in liquid!! They weren't browned or even close - the flavor of the meat is good but the consistency of the cooked meatballs is wrong - won't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Ok I have already reviewed the Recipe, but I had to add this one too. I came home from work and we were having Spaghetti with Meat Sauce. After a couple of bites, I said this was a terrific sauce and asked where my bride had gotten the recipe. She smiled a little then told me how she was a little distracted when making the meatballs and how she just added the meat to the sauce pan with the onions, and when she realized what she had done it was too late. Very Funny, so I think we stumbled on another Recipe "Chef John's Meat Sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States