Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
These were really, really good! Very tender. The only thing I did different was baked them for half the time then added them to my spaghetti sauce to finish cooking and add the meat flavors to my sauce. They made amazing meatball sandwiches the next night. I think even my Italian in-laws would love these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family loved these Chef John! Won't change a thing. We love the zing from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Thanks you soo much for thise recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Can't say enough about how delicious these are. I increased the meat to 3 pounds and adjusted accordingly, thinking the original recipe would not feed my family of 6. Needless to say, we have leftovers (and the family is grateful!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These are very tasty, and it makes a lot! They freeze well, hold their shape after defrosting and taste just as good as when they're fresh. They're great to have on hand for those nights when you feel lazy, just let them defrost, reheat/brown in pan, add sauce and pasta, done, great low-effort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I cannot believe how simple this was. I omitted the onion because I was making these for picky kids and they were still delicious! I also skipped the one hour in the fridge. YUMMY! Freezing extras for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So, so good! But feeling lazy, I skipped sautéing the onions in olive oil and simply very finely chopped them and added them right into the meat mixture. They cooked beautifully and perfectly within the meatball in the oven. I leave out the pepper flakes (just personal reference) and add basil and a bit of oregano. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Made as is and they were fantastic. Next time I would like to make a double batch & freeze what I don't use. Any thoughts on whether or not to freeze them raw or cooked? It's just my wife & I and we would only use maybe 2- 4 meatballs at one setting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchy8560

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe is excellent. My husband and I loved them, and my husband enjoyed eating the leftovers as meatballs subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States