Chef John's Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was the first time I made Chef John's Irish Stew. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was really good, but wanted a friend of mine, who is a very good cook to have some and tell me what she thought. She said it was excellent and will be making it herself. I will surely be making this again ! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Been following Chef John/foodwishes(dot)com for YEARS, this stew is a staple in my home, we have it once a week in the cooler months. I'm making it for a date tonight, it's THAT GOOD and impossible to mess up. Another great thing about this recipe is that you can make it early, leave simmering for awhile if you're not sure what time you're going to eat. Perfect the way it is, but here's another version: follow recipe exactly, only without the potatoes at first. Then follow Chef John's mashed potatoes recipe, once both are finished, ladle the stew over the mashed potatoes and sprinkle with a few extra green onions for garnish. Freezer Tips: I make it all the way, put the stew and the mashed potatoes in separate ziplok bags, freeze, then take to a cabin in the mountains to enjoy with a glass of red wine in front of the fire. Perfect, because all you have to do is reheat and enjoy! Highly suggest visiting his website as well-entertaining and informative; inspired my love for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was incredible! Made better by using local Ontario lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this with pork stew meat. (Lamb wasn't available at the time). I made it in a crockpot, cooking it for about 6 hours. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used sweet potatoes instead of Dutch yellow. Best lamb stew EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanisha
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I did not use Celery and chicken broth, I also leave the bone on as I like chewing bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
The entire family loved this stew! First time we have ever eaten lamb, too! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Another hit for a Chef John recipe! I LOVE lamb. I also buy the shoulder chops often because of their price. I do, however, buy leg, breast, racks (OMG yummm) and ground. It is probably my favorite meat ever. I also love Irish stew. This recipe is perfection! As you will probably notice, I had to substitute frozen vegetables for soup in this dish today as I didn't have any carrots. I actually found the variety of vegetables delicious. I do, however, feel like the way Chef John wrote it is the way to go. I just didn't feel like going to the grocery store just for carrots! So I improvised with what I did have on hand :-) I also made the colcannon from AR and OMG, you couldn't ask for a better meal! Give this recipe a try. I know you are going to enjoy it as much as I am (I'm eating it as I'm writing this! )Thanks Chef John :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed the video. The result was wonderful! My boyfriend loved it! Thank you Chef John. Adding Chopped green onions before serving makes the soup flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States