Chef John's Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
These did not really work for me. They came out dry and the texture dense. I prefer a light and airy bun. Maybe it was something I did or the weather conditions. Since there are so many stellar reviews it was probably something I did! Don't let this review deter you from trying it! It was probably an error on my part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This recipe was fantastic!!! They were very easy to make and the taste was fabulous!!! I did watch the video in order to ensure I formed them properly and that was very helpful. I followed the instructions to a "T" and did not change a thing. Once you try these you'll never want to eat a bagged bun again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I was so excited to try this after reading the reviews but my rolls did not turn out that well. My rolls were very dense. I don't know what I did wrong, I've made bread/dinner rolls before. I may try 1 more time but if anyone has any tips on what may have gone wrong I'd welcome them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrittanyDanger
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Super easy recipe, and yum! The first time I tried this, I made 8 buns as indicated by the amount of servings. The buns were a bit too big for hot dogs but would work well for something larger like sausages. Since then, I've started making 12 buns from the same amount of dough, and I get the perfect size buns that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I only had time to let the dough rise for half an hour before I shaped the buns and let them rise for another half hour, but it still turned out fantastic. So delicious, I'll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Beyond delicious and a big hit with the kids (and the adults, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great flavour. I messed them up though. I had made the dough too flat and tried to reshape it....you can't do that. Doesn't end well. The dough itself was easy to get to the perfect consistency, and it was beautiful. I'll try again now that I have learned what not to do. Im thinking I'll use this recipe for bread sticks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Really good and special. I made it per ingredients. Since I'm super busy and caring for a sick mate, I used the bread machine on it's dough cycle (1 hour, 28 minutes) to make the dough and do the first rise. Then took the dough out of machine, formed it and did the rest as Chef John demonstrates. After baking in the oven, I brushed melted butter on sides and bottom and toasted on gas grill because I made foot long buns (don't have a big enough skillet for foot longs). Family loved them. Light, tasty, crisp outside, not at all like a "regular" hot dog bun. These smell wonderful. These take a hot dog way beyond an ordinary hot dog. Although Chef John prefers just mustard on his, I dressed these up the Chicago style way. Even added the poppy seeds on half the buns I made (without seeds on the others). Whatever toppings you add to your hot dogs, I think this may be one of those things you have to try before you die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved these - they are so good. Light and fluffy inside with a nice buttery crust. I had a hot dog a little while ago and I'm fighting the urge to go eat another bun all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really easy to follow recipe. There is a split-top pan available through King Arthur Flour. This is how all hot dog, lobster, and clam rolls are served when I was growing up on the East Coast. There is nothing like having the bun toasted, inside and out, filled with fried clams or lobster salad or a grilled hot dog or sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States