Chef John's Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Just made this, it turned out perfectly! The secret is using fresh eggs. I am talking straight off the farm if you can get them. I tried making mayo with store bought eggs and it was a disaster. I used a blender and slowly drizzled my oil in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Jackie was right, adding the egg whites made it the right consistency. I also added a pinch of white pepper, paprika, a little more sugar and salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I tried this twice and I even added another egg yolk like other reviewers suggested. Every time I end up with an oily soupy mess. Bummer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Thurmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Ended up with soup in the end and threw the whole mess out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
If your mayonnaise didn't set up and you have a runny mess, just remove contents from container and add another egg yolk. Now add the runny mayo back in and once again start your stick blender and it will set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I never made mayonnaise before in my life so after reading several of the other recipes and ratings, I decided to be on the safe side, made half of the recipe and used a whole egg instead of just the yolk. I also did what other recipes recommended and blended everything except the oil first and then slowly poured the oil in as the blender was running. I first poured in about a quarter of the oil, not wanting to waste it if this was not going to work and kept running the blender. At first it did seem like an oily mess but I kept going for another couple of minutes and suddenly it started getting thicker. Sort of like whipping cream - just when you want to give up, it gets thick. And then I poured the rest of the oil in slowly making sure that it became incorporated into the cream before adding more. The result is thick, creamy and yummy. I am impressed. So, don't give up, this is a good recipe. Next time I'll try it without the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Fantastic recipe, it came out lovely and thick. Think I'll add a pinch of cayenne next time. I also used all olive oil. A light tasting evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, but got a OVERLY liquidy mixture! Tasted like Mayo, but didn't look like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Sadly, I also ended up with an oily liquid....flavor was there, but pretty much inedible as mayo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this, just as described, using my stand mixer and it came out perfectly! I'm so happy! I tried using another recipe and it failed miserably, but Chef John saves the day again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States