Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
From another recipe I picked up using a rotisserie chicken to get both the meat and the bones to make the broth, so I did that. I tried thyme the first time, sage with ginger the second. I did give yours a shot, Chef John, but I go with the traditional flavors. Nonetheless, this is a great recipe in its simplicity and as I write I am off to cook it as a dinner for 8, to serve with some dark rye bread here in Finland :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
X lent ...I just added the juice of one small tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Delicious homemade soup! Can't beat this recipe. Keep in mind that it takes more than 40 minutes if you haven't previously made the roasted chicken broth. Also, don't use more than 4 ounces of egg noodles. I used the exact amount and it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
easy and flavorful thanks for another great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
from stock to soup - superb and easy, no need to change a thing...but didn't have noodles the first time so pre-cooked some pearl barley...yummy either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
It's amazing how the added chicken broth kicks this up a couple notices. Always relied on cooking a whole chicken, bones and all, for full flavor, (and then strain) which it does but the added broth just knocks it out of the park. Made this recipe for 40 years but will add the broth from now on. Just one thing, I always cook my noodles separate because they tend to cloud the broth. I add them to the soup at the very end for a clearer broth. Good one Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Not terrible but a bit on the bland side. Mainly I think the ingredients don't simmer together long enough for the flavors to marry. Also could use more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Made some changes, didn't do thyme or cayenne pepper, just some italian seasoning & a bit of salt & pepper, used 2 chicken quarters- uncooked on the bone, just took meat off when ready, substitute for melted chicken fat was shortening & a chicken boullion cube & I kept onion out. Just used regular chicken stock, put everything in crock-pot, cooked on low for 7hrs & voila yummy warm soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Marie Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Super easy and yummy. Made it for my sick boyfriend and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States