Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I thought this was delicious! I followed the directions exactly with the exception of the broth and chicken. I used leftover chicken that I made using a Rotisserie Chicken recipe from this site and for the broth I used two quarts of water and Better Than Bouillon mix. Used a total of 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper which gave this quite a kick. Altogether it was very flavorful and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krlong6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Made this with a large older hen. On this damp and chilly day this soup hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
From another recipe I picked up using a rotisserie chicken to get both the meat and the bones to make the broth, so I did that. I tried thyme the first time, sage with ginger the second. I did give yours a shot, Chef John, but I go with the traditional flavors. Nonetheless, this is a great recipe in its simplicity and as I write I am off to cook it as a dinner for 8, to serve with some dark rye bread here in Finland :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
X lent ...I just added the juice of one small tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Delicious homemade soup! Can't beat this recipe. Keep in mind that it takes more than 40 minutes if you haven't previously made the roasted chicken broth. Also, don't use more than 4 ounces of egg noodles. I used the exact amount and it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
easy and flavorful thanks for another great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
from stock to soup - superb and easy, no need to change a thing...but didn't have noodles the first time so pre-cooked some pearl barley...yummy either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
It's amazing how the added chicken broth kicks this up a couple notices. Always relied on cooking a whole chicken, bones and all, for full flavor, (and then strain) which it does but the added broth just knocks it out of the park. Made this recipe for 40 years but will add the broth from now on. Just one thing, I always cook my noodles separate because they tend to cloud the broth. I add them to the soup at the very end for a clearer broth. Good one Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Not terrible but a bit on the bland side. Mainly I think the ingredients don't simmer together long enough for the flavors to marry. Also could use more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States