Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I love how simple this recipe is. This is just plain comfort food. It all comes together so quickly too. I weighed the 4 oz of egg noodles and measured them - it was about 2 cups in my large glass pyrex measuring cup. Remember your soup will only be as good as your broth / stock. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent! I used Chef John's roasted chicken stock recipe and the schmalz (chicken fat) from the roasted chicken for making this soup. Next time I might try adding some frozen peas at the same time that the chicken is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Awesome!!! We love this soup, all I had was 2 quarts of regular chicken broth, but I went back to the store and bought one more quart of chicken stock because we like the extra liquid in our soup, the stock makes the difference. Perfect for a day you don't want to do alot of cooking. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved it however I added 1/4 teaspoon of basil, and 1/4 teaspoon of oregano to add a bit more flavor. :) Bon apatite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing,, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very nice soup! I made the Roasted Chicken Broth, omitting the tomato ketchup, and followed this recipe with 2 exceptions. I used leeks instead of onions, and I added 1/2 c. of dry white wine to the broth before adding the noodles and the chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was the best chicken noodle soup I have ever made. It was were making the roasted chicken broth. Full of flavor. I did use whole whaet noodles so they did take a little longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very tasty, not much of a thyme lover, so i substituted a little bit of poultry seasoning in its place. I also used a small whole chicken to make the broth and used the meat to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Changed a couple of things. Poached the chicken breasts with a little olive oil, celery and onion with chicken granules and four cups of water. Brought it to a boil and then turned off the stove; one hour later perfectly poached chicken. Shredded the chicken and sieved the ingredients from the broth. Used the chicken and the broth with some homemade amish egg noodles; plus all other ingredients. Did not have chicken fat so I used canola oil instead. This was absolutely delicious. I think my method is a lot easier with less work and the taste plus presentation is wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States