Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I don't like this Chefs recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is such a great recipe. It's easy, it's fun, and it tastes DELICIOUS! I'm a big soup guy and I even eat soup in the middle of August in Texas. I think the key is to get more hammy, and or smoky flavor is to get a hold of some real or smoked ham steaks. Using pre-packaged diced ham is nice and easy, but it really just adds little chewy cubes of meat. When you get a nice piece of ham, and cube it up it adds just a touch of hammyness/smokiness that really makes this dish. Even if you can't get a nice cut of ham, don't let that keep you from making this recipe! Do it even with the packaged ham it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline Males
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is the best potato ham soup ever. The sprinkle of cayenne pepper really sets it off. I add that to my individual portion. I also made corn muffins with it. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Males

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I did not try this recipe because it is like mine. The only difference is the Cayenne pepper. I do not use that as my husband can't take the 'heat'. I don't think that amount he will taste it, but you know you have to please the hubby! My recipe is excellent so I am sure this one is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this today in the midst of a snow storm and it hit the spot on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
everyone loved the soup, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Ghazal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made it exactly as John's recipe. Was great! I did through in a few leftover mushrooms (chopped). Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeSondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Yum Yum!! My husband and I cannot wait until I make it again. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Will make again ,but will add more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erick
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I replaced chicken broth with pork stock , and cooked inside the soup 2 whole potatoes that I smashed inside the soup as pure to thicken it a lot more, turn out to be awesome .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States