Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Oh Chef John, your reputation precedes you! From your how-to videos to your numerous published recipes, you've earned your title. I was craving Summer and happened to find this recipe, and while I don't have end of season tomatoes yet, this gazpacho turned out incredibly. If you love to cook, but take satisfaction in the preparation of the dish, then try this recipe. I had some time on a Saturday afternoon all to myself to create, and chopping the vegetables was a great source of relaxation. I felt like a character in a movie (have you ever seen Julia & Julia?) while I was preparing this soup. OK, maybe that's a bit dramatic, but the finished product is DELICIOUS! Don't be intimidated by the steps, and here is a great tip from the video--to peel tomatoes easily, dip them in a pot of boiling water for a few seconds. You'll be able to pull the peel off easily before dicing them. THANKS for a wonderful, fresh, healthy recipe! I can't wait to share this with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This might be one of my favorite recipes of all time. Delicious, simple to make and tastes as good or better the next day. I've already had 5 people ask me for the recipe. I made this over the weekend and I am now making it again for an end of school party on Friday for the teachers. I didn't change a single thing in this recipe. This is an absolute MUST try recipe. On a side ntoe - I served this for dinner, but I also served it for brunch along with a southwestern breakfast casserole and it worked very well together. Thank you again Chef John - your flavor combinations are ALWAYS spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
WOW! As a registered nutritionist and personal chef I always look for healthy foods that are quick to make and great tasting. Just last Friday I held a workshop at our local Cancer Center and wowed the participants. This recipe is quick and easy to prepare and has great texture and taste. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ian

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
After trying Chef John's Gazpacho a few days ago I have now pitched my own recipe of over 20 years! Yes folks it is true! You can teach an old dog new tricks or new recipes anyway. ;) I made no changes to it and my family and friends loved it! Gazpacho can be time consuming to make but John's isn't but 45 minutes and viewing his video to make it makes it all the more easy. Plus his voice is so relaxing to me! ;) The only thing I added was a cucumber slice and a dollop of Daisy Sour Cream to the top of each serving. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Never had Gazpacho. Didn't think I would like a cold soup. I was surprised to find this is absolutely delicious. I didn't have farm tomatoes, so I used on the vine ones from the supermarket and added 1/4 of a mango for sweetness. So good, savory, and lite. Will eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was amazing- the time was worth it. I gave up on the straining and put all the "chunks" of the cherry tomato purée in with the rest of the soup, but I don't see a problem at all with the texture. I also used a lemon instead of a lime. Other than that, I followed all the directions and the video! And here's my secret: I used supermarket tomatoes. Who knows, it might taste better with real vine ripened tomatoes, but it still tastes great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
SHUT THE FRONT DOOR PEOPLE! This soup is phenomenal. Who knew that a simple, cold, tomato summer soup could taste like this? I'd all but given up but this recipe showed up in my inbox and I thought "what the heck, we'll try one more gazpacho recipe." SO THANKFUL I DID!!! and I'm sorry to say I did change one thing. I did not see the 4 tomatoes called for first thing. so I got home and had all the rest of the ingredients but not those. So-what to do??? I followed the rest of the directions and then added 2 cups of low-sodium V8. This soup is amazing. I'm letting it chill now as I write but it already tastes so good I know this is going to be a once-a-weeker for the rest of the summer! and I am doing great things for my body!!! also I didn't strain the blenderized cherry tomatoes. and I used 1/4 of a yellow onion and blenderized that with the cherry tomatoes. I'm coming in with a spoon, boys, and y'all better get out of the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this with fresh veg from my garden. Left out the cayenne and the jalapeno so my young son could eat it. Also left out the lime as our tomatoes were bright enough without. My son didn't care for the raw onion, and my husband and I decided I should dice the onion a lot smaller next time (I used my vitamix to chop the veg). I was, however, very pleased with the flavor. I think I might go heavier on the cumin and oregano next time, just to play up the Spanish influence. I made some biscuits to go with (didn't have time to make bread) and that was dinner. It was delicious. Our cherry tomatoes are candy-sweet, and the big yellow tomatoes were very mild and relatively low acid. So this ended up on the sweet end of the spectrum, which really suited me very well. I think it will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fabulous! Unlike other recipes, this did not call for tomato juice. Easy, flavorful to the max! Will be my summer go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My favourite thing about Allrecipes.com is reading reviews on how different people put their own spins on recipes to suit their individual taste, but this recipe is absolutely perfect as is. Followed the recipe exactly and was a HUGE hit at a potluck dinner, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States