Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe except used juice of one lemon instead of lime because that's what I had. I also used regular cucumbers (peeled) and a Vidalia onion in place of the green onions. Absolutely delicious soup and just perfect for dinner on a hot summer night. Thank you for providing such a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious! Just the right "kick" to make healthy eating not seem like deprivation. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fabulous! Unlike other recipes, this did not call for tomato juice. Easy, flavorful to the max! Will be my summer go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Wow! I moved away from Spain a few years ago and have been experimenting (badly) ever since to find a great gazpacho recipe. I was skeptical about including jalapeños and green spring onions, but I'm glad I stuck to the recipe. The best Gazpacho I've ever had. I've since tried this recipe with some additional water, as well as taking the lazy option and just throwing everything a bowl and blending. Delicious! Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is perhaps the best gazpacho I've ever had! I left out the cucumbers and cumin, because I'm not a fan of either, and I only had one type of tomato in the house. It turned out perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent! I did use store bought vine tomatoes because it's too early in the season for the farmers market. So, I added a little bit of suger to the puree. The video was very helpful; and I always enjoy Chef John's easy explanation and great sense of humor :-). The next time I make this I will double the ingredients to share with more friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used LOTS of tomatoes about 15-20. By the time the pulp was pureed and seived, it was about 6 cups. I used about 2 quarts of cherry tomatoes also. The recipe doesn't say how many servings it made, but I don't know what I would have done with only 4 tomatoes. I did everything else according to the recipe. I thought is was very oniony flavored, but I liked it. This recipe served a luncheon for about 6 bowls of soup each. We decorated the tops with crumbled bacon, feta, grated parmesan, and avocado chunks. Really a nice looking soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was quite good--I like the mix of chunk and puree, as well as the spiciness. I just wish it were thicker! Could be great with some toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Amazing! Wonderful freshness and flavor combinations. Each bowl was completely cleaned out, and we had a lot of food. Best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Never had Gazpacho. Didn't think I would like a cold soup. I was surprised to find this is absolutely delicious. I didn't have farm tomatoes, so I used on the vine ones from the supermarket and added 1/4 of a mango for sweetness. So good, savory, and lite. Will eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John's Green Hummus

This super-easy homemade hummus stars beautiful fresh basil.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States