Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this with fresh veg from my garden. Left out the cayenne and the jalapeno so my young son could eat it. Also left out the lime as our tomatoes were bright enough without. My son didn't care for the raw onion, and my husband and I decided I should dice the onion a lot smaller next time (I used my vitamix to chop the veg). I was, however, very pleased with the flavor. I think I might go heavier on the cumin and oregano next time, just to play up the Spanish influence. I made some biscuits to go with (didn't have time to make bread) and that was dinner. It was delicious. Our cherry tomatoes are candy-sweet, and the big yellow tomatoes were very mild and relatively low acid. So this ended up on the sweet end of the spectrum, which really suited me very well. I think it will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Yummy! Can this be frozen??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The best gazpacho ever. I chopped 1 tomato and 1/2 a cucumber. I tossed everything else in my Vitamix whole and blended. I added cilantro from my garden. Mine looked a bit brown, wondering if it was the cuc skin? Cilantro? Basalmic? worchestershire? Anyway, it tasted fantastic! Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
SHUT THE FRONT DOOR PEOPLE! This soup is phenomenal. Who knew that a simple, cold, tomato summer soup could taste like this? I'd all but given up but this recipe showed up in my inbox and I thought "what the heck, we'll try one more gazpacho recipe." SO THANKFUL I DID!!! and I'm sorry to say I did change one thing. I did not see the 4 tomatoes called for first thing. so I got home and had all the rest of the ingredients but not those. So-what to do??? I followed the rest of the directions and then added 2 cups of low-sodium V8. This soup is amazing. I'm letting it chill now as I write but it already tastes so good I know this is going to be a once-a-weeker for the rest of the summer! and I am doing great things for my body!!! also I didn't strain the blenderized cherry tomatoes. and I used 1/4 of a yellow onion and blenderized that with the cherry tomatoes. I'm coming in with a spoon, boys, and y'all better get out of the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe except used juice of one lemon instead of lime because that's what I had. I also used regular cucumbers (peeled) and a Vidalia onion in place of the green onions. Absolutely delicious soup and just perfect for dinner on a hot summer night. Thank you for providing such a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious! Just the right "kick" to make healthy eating not seem like deprivation. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fabulous! Unlike other recipes, this did not call for tomato juice. Easy, flavorful to the max! Will be my summer go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Wow! I moved away from Spain a few years ago and have been experimenting (badly) ever since to find a great gazpacho recipe. I was skeptical about including jalapeños and green spring onions, but I'm glad I stuck to the recipe. The best Gazpacho I've ever had. I've since tried this recipe with some additional water, as well as taking the lazy option and just throwing everything a bowl and blending. Delicious! Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is perhaps the best gazpacho I've ever had! I left out the cucumbers and cumin, because I'm not a fan of either, and I only had one type of tomato in the house. It turned out perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent! I did use store bought vine tomatoes because it's too early in the season for the farmers market. So, I added a little bit of suger to the puree. The video was very helpful; and I always enjoy Chef John's easy explanation and great sense of humor :-). The next time I make this I will double the ingredients to share with more friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John's Green Hummus

This super-easy homemade hummus stars beautiful fresh basil.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States