Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is by far the best recipe for gazpacho I have tried. I added cooked shrimp and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was a big hit at my house. I made it as described except the straining part - that all went into the blender and it came out fine. Next time I might try a green pepper instead of the red bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was fabulous! I eliminated the red bell pepper just because I didn't have any around. I simplified the process by not bothering to peel the tomatoes or strain anything, and did it all in the food processor. I sarted with step 2 and poured it all into my separate bowl. Then went back to step one and started with the jalepeno, garlic, and seasonings to get those the finest. Then added the green onion and cucumber until pretty chunky. (Bell pepper would have gone in here too.) Finally added the tomatoes till they were the right size. Poured it into my bowl, did a quick mix, and poured some back to the food processor to do the final puree- not even sure that step was necessary! We got everything necessary in our CSA box again this week, so I'll be making more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made as submitted but to me it's just like homemade salsa, not soup at all...will have to keep looking for the right gazpacho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Hands-down, this is the BEST gazpacho recipe I've ever tried! Incredibly flavorful with a fantastic balance of flavors and the perfect consistency. Definitely worth the bit of time. Make a day ahead so the flavors develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
WOW! Made the gazpacho yesterday and had it for dinner this evening. Can't say enough good things about it....I thought my gazpacho recipe was good...but this one is way better. I added one clove more garlic and a tad more vinegar, plus a pinch more cayenne ... and this was absolutely perfect. I think the cumin makes this gazpacho unique. And don't forget the sliced basil when serving ... definately makes a difference. Although Chef John doesn't like "wet bread" on the soup, I top the soup with croutons ... a few at a time while eating... as I like a little "crunch" to my soups. I'll be making this great soup often during the summer months. Also ... unlike other gazpacho recipes which add tomato juice or V-8 juice (as mine did) ... rely on fresh veggies such as very ripe tomatoes for the flavor you crave. Also, I didn't strain out the pureed cherry tomatoes .. didn't notice much difference and added additional bulk to the end product. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Best gazpacho I have ever tasted. My friends were wowed by it! Diced avocados and a touch of sour cream really enhanced the beauty and taste. This will be my go to hot summer day recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this with fresh veg from my garden. Left out the cayenne and the jalapeno so my young son could eat it. Also left out the lime as our tomatoes were bright enough without. My son didn't care for the raw onion, and my husband and I decided I should dice the onion a lot smaller next time (I used my vitamix to chop the veg). I was, however, very pleased with the flavor. I think I might go heavier on the cumin and oregano next time, just to play up the Spanish influence. I made some biscuits to go with (didn't have time to make bread) and that was dinner. It was delicious. Our cherry tomatoes are candy-sweet, and the big yellow tomatoes were very mild and relatively low acid. So this ended up on the sweet end of the spectrum, which really suited me very well. I think it will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Yummy! Can this be frozen??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The best gazpacho ever. I chopped 1 tomato and 1/2 a cucumber. I tossed everything else in my Vitamix whole and blended. I added cilantro from my garden. Mine looked a bit brown, wondering if it was the cuc skin? Cilantro? Basalmic? worchestershire? Anyway, it tasted fantastic! Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States