Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Excellent! I used Vidalia onions instead if green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is a wonderful tasting and easy recipe. This is the first time I have made gazpacho and was pleased with the consistency and flavor profile. I got all my ingredients at our local farmer's market and followed the recipe to the letter. I have given it four stars because, you never know, there might be a better recipe out there. But, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this yesterday with ingredients fresh from a local farm market and changed the recipe only by adding a few more tomatoes. The result was excellent and well received by the diners, including the one who said he "didn't normally like gazpacho"but loved this.A dollop of sour cream was a nice garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent! I made this with fresh from the garden tomatoes, cucumbers, and basil. I also used pickled jalapeños instead of fresh jalapeños. The four of us thoroughly enjoyed this dish! Yummy! We all feel it's the best Gazpacho we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The hubby made a little fun of me for making 'cold soup'. After a bite, I'm starting to worry about hiding the leftovers! Very delicious for my first time gazpacho... hubby even suggested making it into a salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is wonderful! I made it yesterday with tomato from my garden and it was simple and easy. I followed the recipe but I added a tbsp of sugar to combat the acid in the tomatoes. This is a keeper. It is very refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I didn't care for the first gazpacho I had a few years ago and wasn't hopeful on this one. But this was definitely much better for my taste. I didn't peel the large tomatoes nor strain the purée. We don't mind the chunks. I also omitted the jalapeño as this was for a post wisdom teeth extraction meal. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Holy cow! I've never had gazpacho before but being over-run with a ton of tomatoes I need something to do with them. This soup is ah-mazing I will make it every time I have great homegrown tomatoes, Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious! I made this tonight and it tasted fresh, flavourful, and healthy. The only change I made was to cut the amount of oil in half to reduce the fat content, and I left out the pepper to make it child-friendly. Even my picky toddler finished a bowl (I pureed his so he couldn't pick out the veggies). My only comment would be that the serving size seems a little off to me (or maybe my tomatoes just weren't large enough) but the serving size for 6 was just barely enough for 2 adults and a toddler. Otherwise it was great, and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States