Chef John's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Do not look any further for another Fried Green Tomato recipe; you will not beat this one. The most novice cook will look like a 5 star chef serving these. Follow Chef John's advice and you will be a Southerner in no time. I used Italian panko bread crumbs and added one additional egg white to the two whole eggs and milk station. Please make sure you let them set for 10 to 15 minutes once breaded as I believe it makes all the difference. Also, make sure to follow the step regarding drawing out the water from the tomato slices. The remoulade sauce puts this dish over the top. Liked the movie, loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Chef John does a good job of describingthe process of cooking the tomatoes.I also used buttermilk, instead of regular milk. atop the tomatoes with goat cheese and made a Louisiana remolaude sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael S Cole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Totally delish! Will definitely make again. Skipped the cornmeal since I didn't have any. Still soooo good. Took me back to the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
First time making them. The video was very helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These were so easy and delicious, even for a novice like me! I would not change a thing! I followed the directions EXACTLY, setting out the tomatoes to drain, keeping them in the flour for a while, pushing in the cornmeal, and this is the first time the coating didn't come off something I was trying to fry! I made these to accompany Chef John's Crab Cakes, which were also wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is the very best fried green tomatoes I have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly after watching the video. Perfection. Better than anything I've had in southern restaurants too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this for 70 seniors and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Loved it!! Didn't have cornmeal so used crushed lime tortilla chips and it was a hit!! Made the sauce too. Southern and sassy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Best fried green tomatoes!!! Really enjoyed the sauce as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I absolutely L-O-V-E-D this, Chef John!!! So very impressed indeed!!! I confess that I made a few adjustments to the recipe to fit my groove, for example, I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, red tomatoes rather than green (store's I went to really didn't have green tomatoes), chili pepper rather than cayenne pepper, wheat flour instead of the plain ole white flour, sea salt rather than regular salt, & I cooked my tomatoes for longer to make them a little more crisp. I was SO very pleased as well as impressed, & Chef John was not only a fabulous chef to learn from, but his positive & peppy attitude as well made it a fun experience for me!!! I WILL be back to check out some more of his recipes!!! Thanks from my mom & I!!! :-) ) ) P.S... Personally, in my opinion, no dip is needed for this recipe... It is great as is, I do recommend to cut the tomatoes just a tad thinner & maybe just tomatoes that are a little smaller if you prefer them a little more crispy, but don't get me wrong, they are still awesome his way too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States