Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Wow! I've been making french toast for years and thought I was doing it right..."if it ain't broke don't fix it". I never knew about a "classic restaurant method". I just did it the way my Mom and Grandma taught me and never would have thought to lightly fry and place it in the oven. Since I love french toast I had to give this a try and I was pleasantly surprised. This came out crisp, light, fluffy and just plain delicious. I topped it with a dusting of powdered sugar and REAL maple syrup. It was perfect served with fresh fruit and OJ! Thanks for a great recipe Chef John and an update on a truly classic breakfast favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this for family breakfast and it was really good. I didn't have French bread on hand, but used a thicker sliced bread. The cinnamon and all spice give a nice flavor. I added a very small amount of powered sugar to the mixture. It was nice to put the slices in the oven as they were fried and also kept them nice and hot until all were complete so we could sit down and enjoy together. I will make these again, everyone loved then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
UH MA ZING! Thank you Chef John for another 5 star hit :-) After trying your perfect mashed potatoes recipe, I always look for your version for what I'm looking to cook up. All who've sat down at my dinner table think I'm a rather excellent cook and I have your influence to thank for it! Keep em comin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Nothing fancy about this recipe. It is the all around basic Frech Toast Recipe, except the unnecessarily added allspice. The real secret to French Toast is using stale bread (aka "Day Old") to soak up the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
French toast is OK, but I think what I don't like about it is the custard-y texture. This recipe is crisp and yummy! Great flavors. Cooking on the stove and then crisping in the oven is wonderful. Also helps to make sure that everyone is eating a hot meal together. Made it for "breakfast for dinner" tonight. Definitely will be something we make again---for breakfast/brunch/dinner. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Still awesome! Only edit is to double the mixture if your using "country" type wider slices or thick cuts. I chopped up some apples and coated w allspice, cinnamon, pumpkin spice and a little honey. Baked at 350 for 20-30 and used as topping MMM! Also, out of of powdered sugar so put granulated sugar into the blender. Instant powdered (-: Huge fan of Chef John! He's my go-to for any recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Who knew I was making French Toast wrong all of these years????!!! I will never make French Toast another way! Delicious, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Absolutely delicious! Even my kids who are only 5, 6 and 7 commented that these were way better than the other way I make them. Says a lot when kids notice the difference. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAXYBONE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
this recipe is fantastic!!! loved having it in the oven but not needing to take all the time baked french toast normally takes. looked so pretty.... and tasted fantastic!!! i have yet to find s chef john recipe i didn't like thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Outstanding, like all of Chef John's recipes! Just one question, C. J.; where's the pinch of cayenne? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Who knew I was making Restaurant Style French Toast all these years...Although, I add just a touch of sugar to make it brown more evenly and I don't use the allspice in mine as no one cares for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States