Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Best French Toast EVER! I didn't have allspice so used freshly grated nutmeg. The aroma coming from the oven was amazing. Hated to eat the last bite, because it meant there was no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Who knew I was making Restaurant Style French Toast all these years...Although, I add just a touch of sugar to make it brown more evenly and I don't use the allspice in mine as no one cares for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This really works! We like it a little more done so we will add an extra minute or two in the skillet and add a minute or two in the oven. Also, we sliced our bread thick on the diagonal and let it soak up the egg mixture for an hour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the only way I knew how to make French Toast. When I would visit hotel or banquet halls, the stuff that was introduced as French Toast simply tasted like bread dipped in egg with no flavoring. My grandmother taught me this more than 50 years ago, and Chef John, those you have introduced to it, will never go back again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Well, you did it again .... perfection! Best french toast I've ever eaten. From now on I'm checking for your recipes first. Thanks again, Chef John ... you're the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Very good! Baking it off gave it the crisp and crunch I like in french toast. No sogginess here! Plus the baking time gives me a chance to make whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms_cady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Nothing fancy about this recipe. It is the all around basic Frech Toast Recipe, except the unnecessarily added allspice. The real secret to French Toast is using stale bread (aka "Day Old") to soak up the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
The first half burned in the pan, the second half of the pieces of french toast burned in the oven at just 5 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is a great, easy to follow recipe. The whole family liked this french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Who knew I was making French Toast wrong all of these years????!!! I will never make French Toast another way! Delicious, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Absolutely delicious! Even my kids who are only 5, 6 and 7 commented that these were way better than the other way I make them. Says a lot when kids notice the difference. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States