Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Perfect!This is the first time I tried this and they were delicious! Some people say "all fries are the same." No way! I'm a french fry nut and eat them all the time, and these turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the way to cook french fries but.. I use peanut oil and they come out better! If you like them seasoned... You can add crushed garlic and toss before the second fry and a little seasoning salt when done. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These turned out very good. My family loved them. The second fry was only a few minutes for me and they started turning brown fast. I don't fry food very often but will use this recipe when I make homemade fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tardyk
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These wee absolutely spectacular. Glad I made more than I needed because everyone wanted seconds. I am a believer in twice fried from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tardyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These fries turn out perfect for me every time. But I have a little secret. Don't use fresh oil. The fries about 3 sets in are the best so far!! So keep the oil every time. I'm sure there's a limit on this, so be careful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Married 44 years and counting... Gotta let the hubby have his fried foods and desserts. :D These fries are the best! I am not a huge potato fan, but even I can't resist these. As always, another winner from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
We will never eat fries out of a bag again! These were absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I learned this method watching Julia Child on PBS back in the 70's - perfect fries! First cooking at the lower temp is just to cook the potato, then you MUST let cool a bit, then do the second round at the higher temp to actually "fry" them - perfect crispness on the outside, with perfect soft potato inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wow! What a difference just a technique change can make. These fries are exactly what I was looking for in texture and flavor...and leave the skins on! I would compare them to a 5 Guys burger and fries quality. The only complaint I have is that my fryer is too small to make enough at one time and keeping them warm between batches would require me to heat up the oven or toaster oven on a keep warm setting. There has got to be affordable bigger home fry machines out there. Thanks so much for posting this, you've solved my 30 min. one way trips for my fry cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States