Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Darling husband bought a french fry cutter at the flea market and was dying to make his own hand cut fries. This recipe was a great guideline for making crispy fries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Quick, easy and delicious. Try par-boiling and chilling before the first fry to make them really fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Awesome. Takes a bit of time, but well worth it. The first truly successful batch of home-made fries I've done. Thanks. My boys loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Amazing! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These were perfectly crispy and delicious! ! I did season them with garlic salt and cracked black pepper ..... My 3 year old and husband gobbled them up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Best fries I've ever made at home. I will make them like this (double fry) every time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ady J
Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These were perfect and easy to make! Just make completely sure you pat the fries dry before deep frying them! I made that mistake one time and they came out very soggy. As long as you follow the directions and make sure you pat them dry of the water and let them cool before deep frying them again they will turn out perfectly crispy and better than any restaurant fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Double-frying makes all the difference! I took advice from other recipes on this site and added sugar to the water for extra crispyness. Also, I use peanut oil - it's more expensive but tastes much better (in my opinion). I will definitely use this method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
perfect fries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States