Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These were perfectly crispy and delicious! ! I did season them with garlic salt and cracked black pepper ..... My 3 year old and husband gobbled them up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Darling husband bought a french fry cutter at the flea market and was dying to make his own hand cut fries. This recipe was a great guideline for making crispy fries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Quick, easy and delicious. Try par-boiling and chilling before the first fry to make them really fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Best fries I've ever made at home. I will make them like this (double fry) every time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ady J
Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These were perfect and easy to make! Just make completely sure you pat the fries dry before deep frying them! I made that mistake one time and they came out very soggy. As long as you follow the directions and make sure you pat them dry of the water and let them cool before deep frying them again they will turn out perfectly crispy and better than any restaurant fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Double-frying makes all the difference! I took advice from other recipes on this site and added sugar to the water for extra crispyness. Also, I use peanut oil - it's more expensive but tastes much better (in my opinion). I will definitely use this method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
perfect fries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Amazing! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Awesome. Takes a bit of time, but well worth it. The first truly successful batch of home-made fries I've done. Thanks. My boys loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I am quite the newbie at fried foods. I REALLY like to stick to the baked version, but baked just isn't the same sometimes. This is a GREAT recipe- but I seemed to have a bit of difficulty with it...maybe it was just me?? Soaking the spuds before frying is a MUST! Takes most of the starch out & allows for the taters to seep up the oil (which is unhealthy, but yummy)! Double frying seems to be the key- wonderful the first round on a lower temp, but I ran into problems on the phase 2 of frying on 350 degree is... the alloted time noted by the chef was 5-6 min. on 350 degrees. I had mine in there at that temp for only 3-4 minutes and they were already turniing crispy & VERY brown (maybe I cut too thin since we like shoestring fires?). I was looking for fried you'd see more at one of the deep fried fast food resteraunts- so if you are looking for that, I suggesst more of a frying time on the 1st round, less on the second & keeping an eye on it to make sure it isn't turnng CRISPY/BROWN deep brown. All recipes can be "perfect" by trial & error. this one, needs more time on the phase 1 of frying and less time on the phase 2 at a higher temp, keeping a close eye. But, thank you, Chef John! Great one to start (and maybe my deep fryer is different than what was suggested??) Just TRY it! Doesn't hurt to try- trial & error makes perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States