Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is exactly how the famous Belgian Fries are made. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I gave this only 4 stars simply due to the double deep-frying, which is how I used to make them (like most restaurants do). Then I discovered simply par-boiling my cut fries, for about 2 minutes, draining them, and then wrapping them in clean dish towels to cool.. the towels absorb all moisture from the potatoes. Another good tip is, for crispier fries, drain your fried fries in brown paper bags; paper towels tend to soften them, plus it's easier to shake them up with salt in the brown paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My mother (and me) was born in Belgium. She always made her French fries like this. I'm 68 and I'm still making my fries this way - nothing better than the old "tried and true" recipes, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Fantastic! Double frying really made a difference, used golden potatoes (what I had) and the flavor was great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I've been using this method for years. But I slice mine as thin rounds and add Old Bay seasoning once they're done. Twice-fried is the best way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephPage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Perfect!This is the first time I tried this and they were delicious! Some people say "all fries are the same." No way! I'm a french fry nut and eat them all the time, and these turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the way to cook french fries but.. I use peanut oil and they come out better! If you like them seasoned... You can add crushed garlic and toss before the second fry and a little seasoning salt when done. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These turned out very good. My family loved them. The second fry was only a few minutes for me and they started turning brown fast. I don't fry food very often but will use this recipe when I make homemade fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tardyk
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These wee absolutely spectacular. Glad I made more than I needed because everyone wanted seconds. I am a believer in twice fried from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tardyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These fries turn out perfect for me every time. But I have a little secret. Don't use fresh oil. The fries about 3 sets in are the best so far!! So keep the oil every time. I'm sure there's a limit on this, so be careful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States