Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
The double fry method makes all the difference in the world. I have tried many other recipes but this will definitely be my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I tried this method and the fries were great! Has anyone tried freezing them after the first low temp frying and using them later. If not I will give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Mosolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Tastes like restaurant fries! No doubt about it! Cooked twice makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Coffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Baked them after the first fry, and added Garlic, salt and pepper... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Gill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
These were by far the best fries I ever made. This is the only way I make my fries now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Excellent Recipe! My family loved them and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Argos, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The best way to make fries at home that I've tried so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
AMAZING!!!! We had to cut them a little differently but they were still amazing! I definatly recommend these and they will be made at my house many more times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made these fries for my husband's birthday dinner to go with steaks. I put a bit a sugar in the water while the potatoes were soaking like other reviewers suggested. They were perfect; crisp on the outside, fluffy on the inside. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My husband and I made these french fries tonight and they were out of this world. Just fries with a light dusting of kosher salt. We followed the directions to the tee. The only thing different is that I don't have a dutch oven so I used my cast iron chicken fryer. I was only frying 3 potatoes cut rather thick. The outside was so nice and crisp and the inside was like biting into a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States