Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I will definitely make these again. I tried them because I only had 1/4 t of baking powder left. I followed the directions exactly and had no issues at all! I prepared each taco in the pan after I flipped the tortilla, folded it over and placed it in a casserole dish with a lid covering it, but not actually closed. This way I didn't have to worry if the tortilla would crack or not after it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I have tried it and my daughter (which eats to many tortillas and cheese to me) just loves them also. Chef John is so easy to follow for me and I have tried a lot of his recipes (for my bringing up, the ones that aren't what I consider fancy) and they are great (to me). Now I need him to have for me recipes of foods my mom use to make and I never got the recipes for and can't seem to find. I love it, when I'm not thinking straight, his videos take me right through it like a breeze. Thank You Chef John, keep it coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I, too, will stick with vegetable oil, like olive oil, in my recipe for tortillas. I do not like the vegetable shortening out there in the stores, because they are all hydrogenated. Even lard, which is traditionally used in making tortillas is hydrogenated! Sure, I can buy uncooked tortillas in the stores because I live in tortillaland: NM but, since fresh ones are so much tastier, make them at home. I have a tortilla press so, it makes them effortlessly. Like the other review suggests, 2 pieces of wax paper between the plates make then non stick and clean up easier. Tortilla presses can be found economically in any Latino supermaket, especially if you live in the Southwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've made these a few times and there isn't a consistency, but probably due to me rather than the recipe. Not exactly what I was expecting, but they weren't bad. My kids liked them a lot, I just thought they were alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gari Harmison
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Really great tortillas. Made them exactly as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gari Harmison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This is OK But I like Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing. I followed the video and recipe directions to a T, except for using freshly ground flour instead of all-purpose, and they turned out delicious! Oh and one more thing: you MUST put butter or oil on the skillet! I thought he said in the video to cook them in an unseasoned skillet, but that made them turn out gross! Just add a little butter or oil for each tortilla, though, and they'll rise and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
These were excellent. I've been making mine for years now, but never did the rest stage. Certainly much better. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Webb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Thanks Chef John, followed your directions to the letter and I had puffing tortillas in minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States