Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Thanks Chef John, followed your directions to the letter and I had puffing tortillas in minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Tortilla came out hard/crisp, not rollable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Did not care for this recipe the tortillas came out stiff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I really didn't like the taste of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
So I will try again when I have shortening. I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
These come out tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Had the texture of Naan and was gummy. I made exactly as is and each tortilla was about 8" diameter. Will try again just in case it was my fault but I've made several tortilla recipes before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Tried these this morning with poor results. I believe the problem is that the pan was too hot. I got lovely big bubbles, but they burned way before 1 minute. They came out like Naan bread, not tortillas. I tried cooking them for less time, flipping them several times...no good. The last few I lowered the heat to Low, and they came out way better. They really need to be cooked on low heat and only until they're golden. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with the outcome of these tortillas. I didn't want to make a run to the store for our breakfast tacos and have been meaning to try this for a while but was a little hesitant. This recipe is so easy and the tortillas are so good! I don't think my family is going to be satisfied with storebought any more. I used butter instead of shortening or lard and just rolled them out with my rolling pin. I used a cast iron gridle with no oil and thy cooked just like the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States