Chef John's Five-Spice Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Wonderful! Used the suggested substitute for the 5 spice powder, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect. The seasoning adds just an intriguing difference. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These are excellent! A new twist to serving carrots and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I took it to a party. Everyone loved it. I used olive oil and baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Easy and a great taste. DO NOT go crazy with the five-spice powders. A little goes a long way with this spice. I added some black pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Im not a big cooked carrot fan but I was more than pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed these. I used baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Perfect. I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The Five-Spice is so unique, it balances out the sweetness of the carrots and gives them some depth in flavor. I purcahsed the five-spice for a pumpkin pie receipe of Chef John's - so I knew what I was dealing with in terms of flavor. Ill make these again for sure because they are a little bit different, or "Jazzy" as my mom would say... but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galgarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Feliz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I was not a fan of this side dish. Maybe I didn't cook them long enough, who knows. This was my first time using 5-spice. Maybe I don't like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe and I am NOT a fan of carrots at all. My family of course went ga-ga over them. I made as written with the exception of using baby carrots cut on a bias. I served these with Lebanese stuffed onions and roasted potatoes. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Wow- the seasoning took these to the next level. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTMARRIED62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States