Chef John's Five-Spice Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The Five-Spice is so unique, it balances out the sweetness of the carrots and gives them some depth in flavor. I purcahsed the five-spice for a pumpkin pie receipe of Chef John's - so I knew what I was dealing with in terms of flavor. Ill make these again for sure because they are a little bit different, or "Jazzy" as my mom would say... but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galgarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Feliz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I was not a fan of this side dish. Maybe I didn't cook them long enough, who knows. This was my first time using 5-spice. Maybe I don't like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe and I am NOT a fan of carrots at all. My family of course went ga-ga over them. I made as written with the exception of using baby carrots cut on a bias. I served these with Lebanese stuffed onions and roasted potatoes. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Wow- the seasoning took these to the next level. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTMARRIED62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
No Chinese five-spice powder on hand? Here is what I learned about this ingredient while searching for a substitute. Different five-spice blends use various spices. In his video, Chef John makes jokes about his jar listing seven ingredients. The term "FIVE SPICE" actually refers to the five flavors the blend yields: sweet, sour, bitter, pungent, and salty. A workable substitute is 1/8 teaspoon each ground cinnamon, ground cloves, ground ginger, black pepper, and anise OR fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Sorry I hit enter too fast. I used multi-color carrots and was so happy with this dish. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
These are amazing. I couldn't convince the kids that these were not sweet potato fries!!! Simple to prepare. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I completely agree with the part about "exotic, but familiar and not too exotic". I served these as part of Easter dinner (the bunny didn't eat all of the carrots), and people ate larger portions than they ordinarily would eat of carrots. Accordingly, I suggest planning on 1 1/2 - 2 carrots pp. A nice change from my typical roasted vegetables with just salt and pepper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ginger in the Chinese Five-Spice is a nice compliment to the sweet, soft carrots. I usually use sea salt and pepper to season, but this is a nice variation. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Hands down the best carrots I've ever eaten. Made exactly as directed. Fantastic and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States