Chef John's Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I did not care for this at all and am completely befuddled as to why so many people liked it. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is an amazing recipe. Very easy to prepare and so flavorful. When done, it smells so good. I decreased the portions to 2 servings and substituted the cod for sole. Followed everything else as directed. I didn't have any problems with it becoming liquidy as I dried my fish very well and squeezed all moisture out of the spinach. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
When I told my hubby what was going into this dish he was very skeptical, especially since he's not a huge fish fan. He changed his tune after the first bite. I think it tasted even better reheated. I made everything all at once and it took some time but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I really liked this recipe. However, I need some pointers: I followed the recipe to the word. I don't know if I should have somehow tried to blot the cod, as the dish was really soupy after cooking. Tasted great, and I'll make it again (although I will add some cheese to the white sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Great recipe. Made it as is, though I added some shrimp because I didn't have a lot of white fish (we used sea bass). I did cook my fish beforehand. Dubious of the spinach, but it works really well!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is terrific! I was in a hurry and did this semi-homemade with creamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious.once again chef John, you've put up a 6 star recipe. It tastes like a meal served at an upscale seafood restaurant. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
A friend recommended this recipe and I was very hesitant to try it as it's outside of my usual repertoire. I'm so glad I did. We really enjoyed it! I'm not a big spinach fan but it was good in this recipe. Will try other fish casseroles too since this one worked so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a very good recipe, however, I would add more spinach because it just shrinks to nothing. The nutmeg was an interesting taste. This may be user error and my pinch was too big. Given the amount of pots and bowls it took and the lengthly list of ingredients, I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I have never made anything like this before but it looked really good and it was! I enjoyed all the flavors together. I didn't use as much cayenne pepper because I was making it for kids too but just putting the cayenne in the potatoes added just a hint of heat without being over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States