Chef John's Easy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Excellent! An easy apple pie to add to your Thanksgiving dessert buffet. Have made this two years in row and received top notch reviews both times. Will be on the table again this year.i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
If you follow the recipe without adding anything, this is hands down a 5 star recipe. I don't like nutmeg or apple pie spice - I'm strictly all about brown sugar and cinnamon when it comes to baking with apples. I know, I'm probably not normal but I like keeping things simple. BTW - this is no means a simple tasting pie! It's delish, no need to add lemon or orange essence (really, who does that to apple pie?) nutmeg or flour. And how simple was it to make by making a syrup and pouring on the pie? Can't get easier than that. The only thing that was hard was peeling the apples and slicing them. Even the hubs liked it considering he's not a an apple pie lover. Don't change a thing, kudos to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe today. Used regular butter, splenda instead of sugar, added a lil fresh lemon juice, and also buttered the bottom crust and baked it for about 10 minutes to make sure it was done before adding the rest. my butter mixture wasn't thick it was syrupy but the pie still came out tremendous. .. Great easy quick recipe, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TMYERBURG
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe. I used store bought pie crusts with this recipe and my own pie pan. This is a new favorite. I would not change a thing about the recipe but just added some lemon juice on the apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe today; delicious. Used a tad less sugar since I don't like things overly sweet. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Awesome!! Quick and easy, will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVAUGHN69
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
absolutely delicious...this is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVAUGHN69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is absolutely a keeper! After reading the other reviews I did use about 2 T of flour with the apples to cut down on the potential for the sauce to be too runny. I also didn't use quite all of the caramel sauce and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It is probably best to use Granny Smith's on this recipe because it can be a little too sweet. We found our "caramel" sauce to be too runny. So I will adjust our recipe. Otherwise Excellent!! I love Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
The taste was excellent. I need to work on the presentation, had trouble with the weaving and criss crossing. Also, my sauce did not thicken. May try flour next time but will definately make it again. It was a hit at our cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States