Chef John's Easy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leighann Reppenhagen
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
absolutley positively the BEST apple pie I have ever tasted in my whole life!!! Off the charts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighann Reppenhagen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! I did add corn starch to help thicken it because stayed alittle watery but it is soooooo good!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Akroesch
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have used this for the past two years with my high school special education students and we LOVE it! This year my 5 and 8 year old made two to take to Thanksgiving! Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marybcurlyq
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So easy and delicious, too!!! I'm glad I came across this recipe. I will definitely make this one again...it's too easy not to! (I did follow the recipe exactly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I especially loved the idea of the egg wash & the oven at 425 for 15 minuets and 350 for the last. Beautiful!! I especially loved the idea of egg wash and the higher heat of 425 for 15 minuets and lower heat for 30ish minuets. Beautiful!!!! I am excieted to try chef Johns pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was really good. We'd been to an apple orchard in Iowa and had an abundance of Jonathan apples. They were not large, so just measured 6 cups of peeled and sliced. Did not make a lattice for top, but used a lot of cut outs instead. So yummy - of course, it is from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The pie was overall very good, if you like to eat pie in bowls. The sauce was very unfortunately runny thought surprisingly the pie crust didn't turn soggy. Next time, I'll probably add some flour and mix the apples with the sauce beforehand. But, it's apple pie. And apple pie is delicious anyway it's cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Perfect and easy. I only subbed golden delicious apples and made a little extra sauce for dripping over the ice cream we served along with it. Mine took 50 minutes after lowering the temperature-probably b/c of the cookie sheet I put underneath to catch the drippy overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Easy enough and great! I usually drain the syrup sauce out a little though and it's good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Murdock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States