Chef John's Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I would give this 10 stars if I could! This will now be my go-to deviled egg recipe! Thank you so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I LOVED this version deviled eggs!!! I am so excited to make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We LOVE this recipe. While it's extra work I recommend going the extra mile and candy the jalapenos. It is soooo worth it. (And I don't even care for jalapenos!) In fact I've become an avid follower of the chef because of it. We bought and tasted Sriracha for the first time for this recipe and it is now a permanent staple in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe is simple yet produced a great deviled egg. I cut them in 1/4 and used it as an appetizer. The red jalapeno worked out better than I had expected. I cut it very thin but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Instant hit! Deviled eggs are a holiday must have in my family, every year. This year I decided to switch it up with Chef John's spicy twist to the predictable Deviled Egg, and I'm never going back! Deviled Eggs do not have to be made standard, or with boundaries.... Mix it up, adjust the spice to your liking, and "never make it the same twice, because that's no fun!". Each time I have made them, I use a little more of this and a little less of that, mainly adjusting the level of spice according to the party I am serving. My advice, mix up the yolks according to the recipe, taste and adjust! A little trick my Mom taught me is to put the eggs in ice water to cool them down and to help the egg shells come off clean and easy. Just make sure you allow enough time for cooking, because the ice water will stop the cooking process. I put a dozen to 18 eggs in a cold pot, cover with water and cook on high until the water boils. Turn the heat down a little so the water stays on a steady boil, but not a rough rapid boil, cover and cook for 8 minutes. Thank you Chef John for all of your videos, I am a visual learner and your videos have given me confidence to make things I didn't know I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is by far the best I've tried yet. And its beautiful red and green compliments the holidays nicely! I used white vinegar instead of rice (all i had) and a little more Sriracha. I candied a red sweet pepper (all i could find) and even though i missed the bite from a jap, these still worked wonderfully both visually and tastefully! These were AMAZING!! Thanks Chef John! Making Stuffed Peppers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yes, 5 stars: my husband loves the jalapeno pepper version, thank you Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle and Valerie
Living In: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The yolk was raw in the middle and the shell stuck to the egg. I wasted a dozen large eggs and did not serve deviled eggs, as an appetizer, for Easter. Bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Served this for a dinner party of 15 guests and every single one complimented me on them. Huge hit!!!! Love the different tastes and the candied pepper really added something different, including a more fancy aesthetic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

See how to make sinfully delicious deviled eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States