Chef John's Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Nice combination of tastes - a bit different than the standard deviled egg. I kinda of missed the usual sprinkling of paprika though. Thank you for the recipe. It was a fun one to photograph too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had green jalapeno instead of red and had to go hunting for Sriracha. It was worth it my husband proclaimed them the best I ever made and I liked them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Basic recipe is pretty good. It does give a different twist on the classic deviled egg. I gave up Jalapenos (and other favorites) for Lent, but will add them for our Easter dinner or soon after on this recipe, but they will NOT be candied. Lose the sugar. Otherwise, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These were very good! I used more Siracha than called for...We really enjoyed the spice in these, and the creaminess of the filling from the cream cheese. A nice change from the norm...will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very nice ,lovely recipe and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Served this for a dinner party of 15 guests and every single one complimented me on them. Huge hit!!!! Love the different tastes and the candied pepper really added something different, including a more fancy aesthetic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The yolk was raw in the middle and the shell stuck to the egg. I wasted a dozen large eggs and did not serve deviled eggs, as an appetizer, for Easter. Bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yes, 5 stars: my husband loves the jalapeno pepper version, thank you Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle and Valerie
Living In: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is by far the best I've tried yet. And its beautiful red and green compliments the holidays nicely! I used white vinegar instead of rice (all i had) and a little more Sriracha. I candied a red sweet pepper (all i could find) and even though i missed the bite from a jap, these still worked wonderfully both visually and tastefully! These were AMAZING!! Thanks Chef John! Making Stuffed Peppers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Instant hit! Deviled eggs are a holiday must have in my family, every year. This year I decided to switch it up with Chef John's spicy twist to the predictable Deviled Egg, and I'm never going back! Deviled Eggs do not have to be made standard, or with boundaries.... Mix it up, adjust the spice to your liking, and "never make it the same twice, because that's no fun!". Each time I have made them, I use a little more of this and a little less of that, mainly adjusting the level of spice according to the party I am serving. My advice, mix up the yolks according to the recipe, taste and adjust! A little trick my Mom taught me is to put the eggs in ice water to cool them down and to help the egg shells come off clean and easy. Just make sure you allow enough time for cooking, because the ice water will stop the cooking process. I put a dozen to 18 eggs in a cold pot, cover with water and cook on high until the water boils. Turn the heat down a little so the water stays on a steady boil, but not a rough rapid boil, cover and cook for 8 minutes. Thank you Chef John for all of your videos, I am a visual learner and your videos have given me confidence to make things I didn't know I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

See how to make sinfully delicious deviled eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States