Chef John's Dark Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was a lot easier to make than I had assumed. I also found that if I set the fully mixed mousse in the same ice bath I had whipped the cream and cooled the chocolate mix, it set up much more quickly than 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect! The video was very helpful! My family was worried, at first, that they wouldn't have enough dessert, but the mousse is so rich, everyone was very satisfied with the amount. We topped ours with whipping cream with a couple of tablespoons of powdered sugar mixed in. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Delicious! And OH, SO EASY! Very elegant and romantic dessert. I'd make it again. Used a dark chocolate candy bar with 77 Percent Cocoa. Also, added a couple of teaspoons of powdered sugar to stabilize the whipped cream and to balance the bitterness of the chocolate. Very happy with the results. Another great recipe from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good and pretty easy to make. I did think the amount/portions were a bit off. I doubled it and if I did really want to serve 8 people, I don't think there would have been quite enough mousse. You definitely don't need a big portion of this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Love it! I'm a huge fan of dark chocolate and this recipe is fantastic. This was my first attempt at making mousse and I found the video and instructions easy to follow. The mousse held up well to me piping it into individual dessert cups. My fiancé found it to not be sweet enough so maybe next time I'll add sugar to my heavy cream before whipping it. I on the other hand thought it was just right. I used Lindt 70% cocoa, smooth dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannimachile83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this for a potluck dinner--I quadrupled the recipe and served it in a large casserole dish. The dish was practically licked clean by the end of the evening. It was easy to make, and everyone loved it. Even the gluten free folks could enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Outstanding, simply outstanding! This recipe is the reason that Chef John is the first person I've added to my "chefs I follow". I've made it 4 times now in less than 3 weeks. I'm not a dessert person, but I like mousse, trifles, pudding etc. I received a couple good quality chocolate bars (Lindt) for xmas. The first time I made this I used the dark chocolate one. I did use less chili because I'm sensitive to hot spice, but it didn't bother me. It was killer good. The second time I used the milk chocolate bar because it was all I had. Equally good in a different way... softer, fluffier, more subtle. I used the full amount of chili powder. 2 more times with the dark chocolate. Every time is excellent. I'm now going to look for good quality sugar free chocolate so I can experiment with a diabetic friendly version for my husband. This recipe rivals chocolate mousse that I have eaten in any high quality restaurant. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious and very easy. My husband loves mint so I used half dark chocolate and half mint dark chocolate. Turned out really nice. Will certainly do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The chocolate Mousse was to rich but melted in your mouth at every bite. My family and I loved the dessert and will fix it again. The only thing that was weird was i didn't whip the cream to a peak, because it was taking to much time but it turned out very well anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is the best recipe for chocolate Mousse I have found! It so rich, and simple to make. I did not add as much pepper as it said though. Would rate it ten stars if I could! :) Thumbs up for Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States