Chef John's Dark Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Outstanding, simply outstanding! This recipe is the reason that Chef John is the first person I've added to my "chefs I follow". I've made it 4 times now in less than 3 weeks. I'm not a dessert person, but I like mousse, trifles, pudding etc. I received a couple good quality chocolate bars (Lindt) for xmas. The first time I made this I used the dark chocolate one. I did use less chili because I'm sensitive to hot spice, but it didn't bother me. It was killer good. The second time I used the milk chocolate bar because it was all I had. Equally good in a different way... softer, fluffier, more subtle. I used the full amount of chili powder. 2 more times with the dark chocolate. Every time is excellent. I'm now going to look for good quality sugar free chocolate so I can experiment with a diabetic friendly version for my husband. This recipe rivals chocolate mousse that I have eaten in any high quality restaurant. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is the best recipe for chocolate Mousse I have found! It so rich, and simple to make. I did not add as much pepper as it said though. Would rate it ten stars if I could! :) Thumbs up for Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Delicious! And OH, SO EASY! Very elegant and romantic dessert. I'd make it again. Used a dark chocolate candy bar with 77 Percent Cocoa. Also, added a couple of teaspoons of powdered sugar to stabilize the whipped cream and to balance the bitterness of the chocolate. Very happy with the results. Another great recipe from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious and very easy. My husband loves mint so I used half dark chocolate and half mint dark chocolate. Turned out really nice. Will certainly do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good and pretty easy to make. I did think the amount/portions were a bit off. I doubled it and if I did really want to serve 8 people, I don't think there would have been quite enough mousse. You definitely don't need a big portion of this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Love it! I'm a huge fan of dark chocolate and this recipe is fantastic. This was my first attempt at making mousse and I found the video and instructions easy to follow. The mousse held up well to me piping it into individual dessert cups. My fiancé found it to not be sweet enough so maybe next time I'll add sugar to my heavy cream before whipping it. I on the other hand thought it was just right. I used Lindt 70% cocoa, smooth dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannimachile83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've made this a few times now and it is delicious!!! I even subbed dark mint chocolate for half the chocolate and that was great too! I will be making this more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I looked and looked at recipes because I wanted to make something for National Chocolate Mousse Day (April 3) and decided on this one and WOW, it did not disappoint. I added the pepper but only had cayenne and I added strong coffee to the chocolate instead of water. It made for a hint of coffee that did not overpower the chocolate. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Amazing! I've made this several times and it always turns out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was a lot easier to make than I had assumed. I also found that if I set the fully mixed mousse in the same ice bath I had whipped the cream and cooled the chocolate mix, it set up much more quickly than 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States