Chef John's Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Mine turns out thick and creamy even using ultra-pasteurized cream. Definitely an upgrade to standard sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Super easy. Make with BLT pasta salad, stroganoff, and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe is so easy and delicious. I used my yogurt maker and it was done in 8 hours. So easy and didn't have to wait 2 days. I poured everything in the maker and went to bed, when I got up this morning it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I went to 4 stores trying to find heavy cream with no luck and ended up with ultra-pasteurized whipping cream. I doubled the batch since I had a big glass jar. I didn't have a coffee filter or cheese cloth and used a paper towel which I doubled. Followed the directions for culturing and tried it 2 days later. It tasted like whipping cream with buttermilk. Wasn't impressed. However, the longer it cultures, the better it tasted. I've used it for Chef's John's BLT Pasta and his beef stroganoff along with the simple scones, and key lime pie IV recipe on this site. I'm not sure how long this would last in the fridge. I'm still in search of heavy cream and see what the taste difference between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wonderful!! very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Thank you Chef John for this recipe. Started this on Saturday morning and had your beef stroganoff Sunday evening. All I could find was ultra pasterized cream but, it worked just fine. I live in Southeast Texas where it is a little warmer so the Creme Fraiche set up in a little less than 24 hours. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The first time I made this it worked perfectly, since then (am on my third try) I have not gotten it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made it twice and couldn't get it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
We make this on a regular basis. I have found that different brands of buttermilk work better then others. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This worked beautifully, and the taste is far superior to store bought. I am making my next batch (right now!) to experiment with sauces and baking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Chef John’s Nasturtium Butter

See how to make flavored butter using beautiful, edible flower petals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States