Chef John's Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Thank you Chef John for introducing me to this beautiful thing called "Crème fraîche "which my family cannot seem to get enough of absolutely amazing ..thank you. Lui
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Simple and perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this on the last possible "not too hot day" that we'll have for awhile. It was excellent. My husband who usually uses yogurt instead of sour cream is a convert. Spooned a dollop on some left over posole ... and it was great. Also great with fresh cut stone fruits. So thick and creamy the serving spoon stands up in the bowl. Think I'll try it with the beef stroganoff when the weather cools down. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made it exactly as instructed. This is so much tastier than sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Made this with ultra fresh whipping cream and buttermilk and it came out perfect. I will never buy sour cream again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Mine turns out thick and creamy even using ultra-pasteurized cream. Definitely an upgrade to standard sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Super easy. Make with BLT pasta salad, stroganoff, and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe is so easy and delicious. I used my yogurt maker and it was done in 8 hours. So easy and didn't have to wait 2 days. I poured everything in the maker and went to bed, when I got up this morning it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I went to 4 stores trying to find heavy cream with no luck and ended up with ultra-pasteurized whipping cream. I doubled the batch since I had a big glass jar. I didn't have a coffee filter or cheese cloth and used a paper towel which I doubled. Followed the directions for culturing and tried it 2 days later. It tasted like whipping cream with buttermilk. Wasn't impressed. However, the longer it cultures, the better it tasted. I've used it for Chef's John's BLT Pasta and his beef stroganoff along with the simple scones, and key lime pie IV recipe on this site. I'm not sure how long this would last in the fridge. I'm still in search of heavy cream and see what the taste difference between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wonderful!! very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States