Chef John's Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
wonderful consistency and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
It's a GREAT and beautiful soup but you will definitely need to add more than a pinch of seasoning to taste as stated, especially additional cayenne pepper. I also poured into my Ninja as I don't own an immersion blender. I left off the cream topping but served with the cheese and still a great soup with a side salad. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Virginia Colina
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVE IT! so easy and delicious. i garnished with small pieces of bacon and parmesan and served with crackers. this is one of my favorite soups ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Colina
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Wow, I don't think I've ever been the first person to write a review before. I followed the directions except kept adding more and more of all the seasonings to taste. I also added more of the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and lemon rind than recipe called for. This was a very nice soup for spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Wonderful even though my store was out of heavy cream (gasp), I used half-n-half instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
What's not to love about this recipe? Sooo good! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This soup was very easy and delicious. Make sure you pay attention to the long simmering time for the onions, i really wanted to move on after 5 minutes but stuck it out and i'm glad i did. Think of the 15 minutes as time to do the dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Cudo's again to Chef John! This was delicious! I have made this recipe a few times and only change the heavy cream,(canned milk) and leave the asparagus a little chunky. The flavor is wonderful, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I took the chef's advice and seasoned it to our tastes. WE LOVED IT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
About 20 minutes after this soup finished cooking, it was served and disappointed. Little taste was detected. The single pinch of nutmeg and cayenne faintly hinted something was going on in the background but extremely lame. I probably added 3 pinches of each after taste testing while cooking. It was rated 3* at that juncture. The next day, however, this soup significantly improved, and I would rate it between 4*-5*. The cream topping is the star performer so don’t leave that out, and don’t be shy with the lemon zest (or add a few drops of lemon juice to make it more lemony). In terms of method and saving time, blended this soup in a Vitamix blender which eliminated the immersion blender and mesh strainer steps. This would be a fine, healthy choice if wanting to eat light on a hot summer day or trying to trim a hefty waistline. As Chef John said, it is a gorgeously colored, green soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States