Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent! If you are looking for a true Maryland crab cake, look no further. This is it! I have lived in Maryland, minutes from the Chesapeake Bay for 25 years, and this is practically identical to mine (I just use 12 crushed Ritz crackers, no bread crumbs), but I will try Chef John's version. I'm very lucky, get fresh crabmeat all summer and Old Bay is a must, if you can get it. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Your searching for the perfect recipe is over! This is crabmeat held together with an egg and crackers. Serve with tartar sauce and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I have searched and to make a long story short......these are great, Chef John. Just what I was looking for in a crab cake. One of the best. Thank you so much. Making these for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Well, I didn’t have fresh crabmeat, so I had to go with what I could buy out of the seafood section of our grocery store. Other than that my only deviation was to use panko instead of bread crumbs. I had no problem forming the patties, as mentioned on Chef John’s video, and mine seemed to stay together quite well. I served these atop a salad of mixed greens, green onions, toasted almonds and feta, along with a balsamic vinaigrette. These were good, although I’m sure they would have been better with fresh crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was a great recipe had to make two substitutions Ritz crackers for saltines and added chipotle mayo with the regular mayo. was a hit Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
WOW...These crab cakes are even better than the ones at a high class restaurant. I will most definatly make them again for guests, that is if I don't eat them all. Make sure you use the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very good crab cakes, made the Maryland way. Just enough filler to hold the cakes together, and nothing to detract from the taste of the crab.. My only suggestions are to add a tablespoon of fresh minced parsley and to eliminate coating the cakes in the bread crumbs before frying. These crab cakes are delicious with fresh corn on the cob, sliced tomatoes and a potato salad. Oh yeah, a cold brew or two. If any are left over (rare) they are delicious cold on saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These were awesome! The only changes I made: using ritz crackers instead of saltines. (because I didn't have any) And used panko bread crumbs. Will definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW, these crab cakes were absolutely amazing! Seriously...they are 5 star restaurant quality. This recipe is super easy to make and require "normal" ingredients - most of which are standard in my pantry/spice rack. For personal taste, I did add a little more Old Bay, red pepper and green onions and it came out moist, tasty, and the ingredients do not overpower the buttery sweet crab flavor (btw, I used the 16 oz blue lump crab from CostCo). One critic mentioned that they had a problem with them falling apart - I did not experience that at all. You will need to allow a few minutes for the crab cakes to stand, and as you can tell by the picture, they held together wonderfully. Other's mentioned having a problem forming the cakes - Try sprinkling a little bread crumbs in your hand as you start rolling them. Also, don't let your butter get too hot or it will brown too fast and remember that the quality of your crabcakes will depend on the qaulity of lump crab. These crab cakes are very "meaty" and not too bready, which is what I was hoping for. I made 5 crab cakes and they were a sufficient size. Next time I'll try crab balls so they's go a little further. My husband was very impressed and is still talking about them. Hmmm, these things are so good they can be used as a tool for manipulation…or to put a smile on your honey’s face! Enoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD! I followed the ingredients exactly using 6 live jumbo blue claw crabs, making 6 crab cakes. It was a lot of work picking the crabs but they were left over from a crab fest and I didn't want them to go to waste. I will be purchasing jumbo lump crab meat to make again. Jumbo lump contains no cartilage and is worth the extra dollars. This recipe was so easy to make once I had my crabmeat. It is certainly tops at our house. Thank you Chef John for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States