Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent! If you are looking for a true Maryland crab cake, look no further. This is it! I have lived in Maryland, minutes from the Chesapeake Bay for 25 years, and this is practically identical to mine (I just use 12 crushed Ritz crackers, no bread crumbs), but I will try Chef John's version. I'm very lucky, get fresh crabmeat all summer and Old Bay is a must, if you can get it. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I have searched and to make a long story short......these are great, Chef John. Just what I was looking for in a crab cake. One of the best. Thank you so much. Making these for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Your searching for the perfect recipe is over! This is crabmeat held together with an egg and crackers. Serve with tartar sauce and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Melt in your mouth PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I love this recipe! So easy and tasty... the perfect crabcakes! Thanks Chef John!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Great Recipe! I loved how the filling was light & not too much- I could taste the crab meat! I will try this recipe again using salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Well, I didn’t have fresh crabmeat, so I had to go with what I could buy out of the seafood section of our grocery store. Other than that my only deviation was to use panko instead of bread crumbs. I had no problem forming the patties, as mentioned on Chef John’s video, and mine seemed to stay together quite well. I served these atop a salad of mixed greens, green onions, toasted almonds and feta, along with a balsamic vinaigrette. These were good, although I’m sure they would have been better with fresh crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These were awesome! The only changes I made: using ritz crackers instead of saltines. (because I didn't have any) And used panko bread crumbs. Will definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight along with mango-pineapple cole slaw and homemade dijon tartar sauce. I could hear my husband in the other room exclaiming about how good it all was. He said he had never had crab cakes as good as these. Thanks Chef John! You are now on my favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very good crab cakes, made the Maryland way. Just enough filler to hold the cakes together, and nothing to detract from the taste of the crab.. My only suggestions are to add a tablespoon of fresh minced parsley and to eliminate coating the cakes in the bread crumbs before frying. These crab cakes are delicious with fresh corn on the cob, sliced tomatoes and a potato salad. Oh yeah, a cold brew or two. If any are left over (rare) they are delicious cold on saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States