Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
These cakes were amazing, they came out as good as any place we went out to eat. We used real crab meat not the fake stuff and followed the recipe tp the tee and loved it. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Excellent!!! And so easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made these tonight, and i went by the entire recipe, except i had to go with imitation crab meat, and i found the mixture to be dry. i had to add more egg, and honestly i didn't care too much for this recipe. I love crab cakes, and have had many different ones, but these were not a favorite. this is just my opinion, and i'm not judging for others. My family didn't care much for them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These crab cakes are awesome! I added a bit of chopped carrots, celery, and onion to the mix. They tasted great especially with fresh crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I really don't get why everyone raves about this recipe. I am still looking for a crab cake that doesn't fall apart when you fry it. They were bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made crab cakes! They were great and my husband loved them. The fresh crab is so much better than canned and the small amount of filler really lent itself to a crabby cake. I served with lemon on the side and made a Greek yogurt/dill sauce although I was the only one who used the sauce. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by CAPERSS
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was my first try at making crab cakes, and these were absolutely delicious! They are definitely restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
WoW! Restaurant quality crab cakes. I made two changes. I sauted approx 1 tbs vadalia onion and doubles the old bay seasoning and they were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I thought these tasted good. They are definitely a crab cake that is about the crab and not the filler. I had an 8oz container of lump crab meat, so I halved the recipe. (If you have never worked with fresh lump crab meat, it needs to be slightly sifted through for shells). To stretch the recipe some, I made 6 crab cakes with half the recipe. They were still a generous size. I served it with a homemade dill tartar sauce and vegetables. My only complaint is, I would have liked the center a little hotter. I had to turn the heat down to avoid browning the exterior before the interior was cooked and cook a little longer. It was still a little room temp. in the center, though, for my taste. However, I can definitely say these are of a fine restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States