Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb
Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe other then I added a full teaspoon of old bay, I followed all the steps but I still had problems with mine sticking together. They had a good taste, they just fell apart. I'm not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very, very good. Made it with crushed rice chips in Orlando and were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW, these crab cakes were absolutely amazing! Seriously...they are 5 star restaurant quality. This recipe is super easy to make and require "normal" ingredients - most of which are standard in my pantry/spice rack. For personal taste, I did add a little more Old Bay, red pepper and green onions and it came out moist, tasty, and the ingredients do not overpower the buttery sweet crab flavor (btw, I used the 16 oz blue lump crab from CostCo). One critic mentioned that they had a problem with them falling apart - I did not experience that at all. You will need to allow a few minutes for the crab cakes to stand, and as you can tell by the picture, they held together wonderfully. Other's mentioned having a problem forming the cakes - Try sprinkling a little bread crumbs in your hand as you start rolling them. Also, don't let your butter get too hot or it will brown too fast and remember that the quality of your crabcakes will depend on the qaulity of lump crab. These crab cakes are very "meaty" and not too bready, which is what I was hoping for. I made 5 crab cakes and they were a sufficient size. Next time I'll try crab balls so they's go a little further. My husband was very impressed and is still talking about them. Hmmm, these things are so good they can be used as a tool for manipulation…or to put a smile on your honey’s face! Enoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
AWESOME!!! My boy is a picky eater and he wanted more. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Pretty good. I added more cayenne than a pinch, but other than that followed the recipe. The crab cakes held together pretty well in the skillet, so that bit of advice (from the video) kept me from chickening out and adding more crackers and breadcrumbs. I wonder if they'll still hold together if I add some dill next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Oh my word, these crab cakes are absolutely delicious! I made them almost exactly per the recipe (forgot the salt, but we're not salt people anyway so none of us missed it), and they have to be the best crab cakes I've ever had. This is literally just crab meat and a tiny bit of binder to hold it together, which is why refrigeration is key. The patties hold their shape better when they are cold. Served tonight with corn and sweet potato fries, and they were a huge hit. Next time I may change it up with extra Old Bay and Ritz crackers, but the crab cakes were amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My first attempt at crab cakes was a success. Thanks Chef John. Held together well and the flavors were spot-on. Didn't change a thing. And the woman I cooked them for was impressed! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rereid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is an excellent crab cake recipe - heavy on the crab, light on everything else. In fact there was so much crab, and so little filler, I had a difficult time forming the cakes. But once they were formed and in the pan I left them alone until they had a chance to brown. Then I was able to successfully flip them to brown on the other side. The only ingredient I added was chopped scallions. I served them with Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans, also from this site. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Loved loved loved....I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing...no need to....Great and my family loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States