Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is the best crab cake I have ever tasted. I have never made them before till tonight and everyone even the kids loved them. They stayed together perfectly when frying. The only thing I did differently was added some extra old bay because some said it was bland and bye far It was not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arizonacymzz
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great. My first time ever making crab cakes and it was a hit. And I am not even a fan of crab, but this is a keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was delicious! I set the bones on the side of the plate and then smash them with a fork and mix them into the flaked salmon. You don't even know they're in there and the calcium is good for you. Mary Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious, just like written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Argos, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Excellent! This was my first time making a homemade crab cake and it turned out just right. Easy to make for a novice. Nothing but crab flavor through and through. I found I needed to bump up the mayo and Dijon just a little to get the consistency I wanted, and I went just a tad more on the old bay for flavor. Served with a steak and my wife was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
yes this recipe is great! I used Tony's Chachere's seasoning instead of Old Bay and it doesnt require any salt or pepper. I will be using this recipe again and again! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My daughter made these crab cakes for dinner tonight. She added a little more old bay seasoning and cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. The flavor was wonderful. The cakes crumbled a little due to the fact that there was little filler but it didn't affect the flavor. She served them with homemade tartar sauce and oven roasted asparagus. The crab cakes were very filling. We are stuffed! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this several times and I forgot to leave a review. This recipe is so easy and delicious! I will made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charvey32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These were SO good! I like things spicy, so I made everything as is except I took a yellow chili pepper, minced and sautéed it in a little olive oil, cooled it, and tossed it into the mixture. I could have eaten 10 of these! I got rave reviews from my guests as well. I found that to reheat, take a little bit of butter (mixed with cayenne pepper if you like the heat), drizzle on top, and stick it in the toaster oven. Thank you for this recipe a hundred times over!! Edit: I forgot to mention about the cakes falling apart while cooking. It was my first time making something like this, so it took a little bit of experimenting. I found that if I used one spatula to stop the crab cake from moving, I could easily slide another spatula underneath the cake. I then kind of pressed the two spatulas together to flip the cake and nestle it back into the oil. After a couple of tries, the cakes came out perfect. No mess! No falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I don't eat seafood but I made these for my boyfriend. He loved them! I would make them again but make them smaller and a tad more cracker to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States