Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These were simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't even refrigerate the mixture before cooking them and I had no problem with them falling apart. I also don't have access to old bay here in Japan, so I used paprika, cayenne, garlic powder, and pepper. Chef John, you are the man!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Wow! We desired something new and I was nervous because his video emphasized having the best of crab. My supermarket crab was good enough and we loved these!! (Ps: watch his video, it's great). This was incredible (and crazy easy!!) thanks chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made these tonight for Super Bowl! Amazing..thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I used Panko instead of crackers/bread crumbs and I also made the ancho honey mustard sauce to drizzle on top....wunderbar.....yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb
Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe other then I added a full teaspoon of old bay, I followed all the steps but I still had problems with mine sticking together. They had a good taste, they just fell apart. I'm not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very, very good. Made it with crushed rice chips in Orlando and were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW, these crab cakes were absolutely amazing! Seriously...they are 5 star restaurant quality. This recipe is super easy to make and require "normal" ingredients - most of which are standard in my pantry/spice rack. For personal taste, I did add a little more Old Bay, red pepper and green onions and it came out moist, tasty, and the ingredients do not overpower the buttery sweet crab flavor (btw, I used the 16 oz blue lump crab from CostCo). One critic mentioned that they had a problem with them falling apart - I did not experience that at all. You will need to allow a few minutes for the crab cakes to stand, and as you can tell by the picture, they held together wonderfully. Other's mentioned having a problem forming the cakes - Try sprinkling a little bread crumbs in your hand as you start rolling them. Also, don't let your butter get too hot or it will brown too fast and remember that the quality of your crabcakes will depend on the qaulity of lump crab. These crab cakes are very "meaty" and not too bready, which is what I was hoping for. I made 5 crab cakes and they were a sufficient size. Next time I'll try crab balls so they's go a little further. My husband was very impressed and is still talking about them. Hmmm, these things are so good they can be used as a tool for manipulation…or to put a smile on your honey’s face! Enoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Suggs
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
AWESOME!!! My boy is a picky eater and he wanted more. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States