Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My daughter made these crab cakes for dinner tonight. She added a little more old bay seasoning and cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. The flavor was wonderful. The cakes crumbled a little due to the fact that there was little filler but it didn't affect the flavor. She served them with homemade tartar sauce and oven roasted asparagus. The crab cakes were very filling. We are stuffed! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this several times and I forgot to leave a review. This recipe is so easy and delicious! I will made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charvey32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These were SO good! I like things spicy, so I made everything as is except I took a yellow chili pepper, minced and sautéed it in a little olive oil, cooled it, and tossed it into the mixture. I could have eaten 10 of these! I got rave reviews from my guests as well. I found that to reheat, take a little bit of butter (mixed with cayenne pepper if you like the heat), drizzle on top, and stick it in the toaster oven. Thank you for this recipe a hundred times over!! Edit: I forgot to mention about the cakes falling apart while cooking. It was my first time making something like this, so it took a little bit of experimenting. I found that if I used one spatula to stop the crab cake from moving, I could easily slide another spatula underneath the cake. I then kind of pressed the two spatulas together to flip the cake and nestle it back into the oil. After a couple of tries, the cakes came out perfect. No mess! No falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I don't eat seafood but I made these for my boyfriend. He loved them! I would make them again but make them smaller and a tad more cracker to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Perfect crab cakes! Chef john is the man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Too salty! Perhaps low sodium saltines would be better. I used fresh crab and I'm so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I followed this recipe to the t and I used fresh snow crab clusters that were on sale at Ralph's this week. These where better than 90% of the crab cakes I get in restaurants. The only thing shelling snow crab is labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCAMP49
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe the only substitution was the crackers which were Ritz. I've been following Chef John for quite a while and found his recipes to be a wonderful culinary and palatable venue. The photo above with Rice is this dish, Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAMP49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious!!! I used 2 cans of claw meat instead of fresh but kept everything else as instructed! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe just as written and loved it. My brother said it was possible the best crab cakes he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States