Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
great!! easy to make - recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. I have made these a couple times. Very flavorful. Topped mine with salsa....so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Zinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I would recommend not coating with bread crumbs before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
These turned out great! I subbed olive oil for the butter for frying but otherwise I stuck strictly to the recipe (something I don't usually do). I had no problem with them falling apart in the pan. These have a great flavor that went well with a lemon-dill sauce I added on the side. I usually tweak recipes (as I'm sure most of us do) but the next time I make these I won't be changing much. Thanks for sharing it Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We thought it was a good, basic crab cake recipe, especially if you want a pure crab taste. That being said, next time I will up the seasoning as was bland. I used pretzel crackers, 8, which were not too salty and I had on hand. I used panko for the coating. No salt. Next time I will use lemon infused oil and butter as they were a little too crisp, brown and lower the time to cook to 3 mins per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe! Easy and it showcases the crab. Fresh crab not available where I live so had to use canned. It was still very good. Can only imagine how good it would be with fresh. Used panko with a bit of chopped fresh parsley for coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Followed to the letter. Served with honey mustard and avocado. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I thought these were perfect crab cakes. Will be making them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Yummmmmm......looks awesome! I'm going to try them tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States