Chef John's Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very Good! I had some left over roast beef that I needed to use up and went looking for a hash recipe. My mom made it for us many years ago to use up roast beef (and probably lamb or other roasts) and I recall her grinding the cooked meat but I just chopped it up. I used olive oil and regular onion as that was what I had. I didn't have the proper salsa but served it with ketchup like my mom did. Delish!! It brought back good memories, too. Thank you for the recipe. Next time I'll try it with the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val's Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
For the most part I followed the recipe, the only thing I did different was I cooked the corned beef brisket in the slow cooker for a day and a half, but that was more for my benefit. I love the smell in my house and also it made chopping it easier, it just falls apart. I have never cooked corned beef so I never dreamed I could make corned beef hash. The recipe is simple and tasty! Huge success. And it freezes well, this makes a lot for two people to eat so we froze most of it. We just take it out and put it in the fridge the night before then pop it in the microwave. Yumm! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was so tasty! I only had a regular onion, so I used half an onion finely chopped. I used left over pot roast to make it " roast beef hash". Yum! The salsa gave it great flavor and because the roast was a wee bit dry I added about 1TBS. veg oil to help crisp it up. Perfect, not greasy like some of the canned kind. Definitely a keeper. My husband loved it, there were no leftovers. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was ok to me. It would have been terrible without a sunnyside egg dropped on top. That added some extra flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have never made hash of any kind before, and thought this was very good! I used leftover sliced corned venison for this (no fat at all) so did not cook it before adding the potatoes, onions, etc. the salsa added a nice touch and we had it for brunch, both hubby and I like it very much. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Perfect corned beef hash. I have made hash before and liked it, but the salsa was the perfect touch. We loved this. The key ingredient is patience. It really takes a long time to get the crust right but it is definitely is worth the time and effort. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is really good even though I had trouble getting the crust to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Take a while to make, but absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent!!! After my first attempt making corned beef, which was delicious, I wanted to transform the leftovers into something different and found this recipe that was unrated at the time but looked intriguing. I watched the video and book marked it in anticipation for our weekend brunch even though I am not a fan of hash like my hubby is. While I was preparing to make it I realized I forgot to buy the roasted tomato salsa, but I decided to make it anyway and it was absolutely scrumptious. I am now converted to a corned beef hash lover and look forward to making it again to include the secret ingredient. Thank you Chef John for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curiosity!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was extremely tasty. I used white onion (I had one on hand) and garnished with a little cilantro. Worth the time making a corned beef brisket just for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States