Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I have to agree with so many of the other reviewers. This was the best and easiest Corned Beef and Cabbage recipes I ever prepared and enjoyed. There was no greasy taste. I made it yesterday and dinner tonight was perfect leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette Ullery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Great, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The seasoning packets in corned beef is basically just pepper corns, mustard seeds and bits of bay leaves, maybe a little dried onion & garlic, but you can use "Pickling Spice" as well. I have been cooking Corned Beef for about 40 years now and one of the tricks I have found over the years for cooking it is to start out by putting your beef in COLD water and slowly heating it up to a simmer only in the spices. Never BOIL the meat, just simmer it or else the meat will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the second time I made it-exactly by the recipe (perhaps with a few more potatoes to satisfy the Irish in me) and it is officially a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
As with all of Chef Johns receipts this was great.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I followed the directions to the letter!! My husband and I absolutely loved it. Flavor, color and presentation, AWWWWWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Absolutely fantastic. I look like a genius! The timing is what's important, and this spells it out beautifully. I didn't know you need to let meat set for 15 minutes before eating. Cooked a 4 lb brisket three days ago, it was so good it was gone. Cooking another one tonight. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lea Egan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was a real hit with my family. The difference is that I did not have much time, so I cooked it in my pressure cookeR for 1 hour. Everything was nicely cooked and really tasty. Definitely a "do-again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day dinner. It is the BEST recipe, and it was absolutely delicious. Thank you so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Very good but way too many potatos. I cooked it the night before but next time will do it all on the day it is to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States