Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the second time I made it-exactly by the recipe (perhaps with a few more potatoes to satisfy the Irish in me) and it is officially a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
As with all of Chef Johns receipts this was great.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I followed the directions to the letter!! My husband and I absolutely loved it. Flavor, color and presentation, AWWWWWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Absolutely fantastic. I look like a genius! The timing is what's important, and this spells it out beautifully. I didn't know you need to let meat set for 15 minutes before eating. Cooked a 4 lb brisket three days ago, it was so good it was gone. Cooking another one tonight. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lea Egan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was a real hit with my family. The difference is that I did not have much time, so I cooked it in my pressure cookeR for 1 hour. Everything was nicely cooked and really tasty. Definitely a "do-again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day dinner. It is the BEST recipe, and it was absolutely delicious. Thank you so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Very good but way too many potatos. I cooked it the night before but next time will do it all on the day it is to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Loved the recipe but next time I would not add ANY salt. The corned beef already salts it up and the extra salt is just too much. Otherwise a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Cooked this last night and it tasted great. The only thing I changed was the addition of a bottle of Guinnes beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
If I am trying something for the first time that I have no idea how to cook, I always search for Chef Johns version first. I have always done my corned beef in the slow cooker and wanted to try it in my dutch oven, so I was excited to see Chef John had a version! This turned out perfect! My beef was about 4.2 lbs and I let it cook just as his instructions state for 4lbs and it turned out amazing! My family raved over how well everything cooked, and the flavor! The only thing I did differently was left the carrots out and cooked separately due to space in the pot initially- the potatoes and cabbage were so perfectly cooked and well infused with flavor! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States