Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
As corned beef recipes go this is one of the best and easiest I have ever made. I used a 5.5 qt. dutch oven and a 2.5 lb. corned beef. Even with a small head of cabbage it was a tight fit for all the ingredients. So the next time the only thing that I would do different. Is to start earlier giving myself plenty of time. Now cooking wise let the corned beef, potatoes, onions, carrots, cook to fork tender and done. Once fork tender done remove the corned beef,potatoes, onions and carrots aside. Now add the cabbage into the liquid cook cabbage till done. Also by doing this you can now adjust the cabbage to your taste if you like it spicy or sweet or just let it cook in the liquid till done. Overall a winner and a keeper recipe. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and it was fantastic. Change nothing just follow the directions. Meat melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this recipe today. It was delicious. The only thing that I changed is that I didn't add any salt and cooked the potatoes for an additional 15 minutes (I live at high altitude). This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Zampacorta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Chef John, thank you! This was the best corned beef and cabbage I've ever made. Basically I make it once a year for St. Pattys day and I've tried different recipes. They are all kind of similar but I guess the subtle differences make a difference because this was loved by all in my family. Everyone liked it so much that I may just make it again before next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe as written though next time I may double the salt and add pepper. Also I only used a 2.5 lb. brisket, WAY to small. My wife and I devoured it and now there's plenty of veggies left over, but no corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!!!! Loved being able to watch the video. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Over the years, I have tried many different recipes for corned beef and cabbage, but this is the tastiest! Once the potatoes were placed into the pot for cooking, I searched the web for a horseradish sauce recipe since I love boiled potatoes with it. I was happy to find one from Chef John. In my opinion, No need for horseradish on the brisket. It is that good! Using the left over brisket to make his version of Corned Beef Hash for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Used this recipe for a 3.75 lb brisket...came out perfect! I have only made corned beef one other time, and it was made in the crock-pot. From now on I am using this recipe, on the stove top, and making it more often! The video helped me a great deal as well! Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simple, savory, and a perfect St. Patrick's Day dinner. Chef John, you not only give us the greatest recipes, you more importantly give us confidence! Thank you once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by vail130
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just made this corned beef, scaled down to a 2.5lb piece of meat. It's absolutely the best corned beef I've ever had. I live in NYC and am no stranger to Carnegie Deli, Katz's Deli, and 2nd Ave deli, but I would take this corned beef over them any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States