Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Thanks Chef John. So happy to see an authentic recipe for potato pancakes. My Polish mom made these every Friday for dinner and I make them at least once a month for my family. Wonderfully crisp, tender and flavorful pancakes; try them topped with applesauce and or sour cream with chives. Just make lots and lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
That's how it's done! Follow these simple instructions for perfect potato pancakes every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very easy and delicious recipe. Everybody loves it! I didn't put cayenne pepper into mine because my family doesn't like spicy at all. We had it with salmon. Yumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I fixed them to night and are they good. I like the shredded potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
My family recipe for potato pancakes/latkes uses the potato starch. I use a clean dish towel and put half of the onion potato mixture in it and twist the towel over a bowl of cold water. After squeezing all of the water out over the bowl you will note a layer of white starch has settled to the bottom on the cold water. Carefully pour the water off and add the starch layer back into the onion/potato mixture. This pure starch will act as a binder to hold the mixture together during the frying process of the pancakes. Chef John makes the point of instructing you to remove as much water as possible and that it the key to light crispy pancakes. To not remove the water results in soggy latkes that are gut bombs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
and if all else fails, grab your waffle iron and a bag of tater tots. Spray with Pam, lay them out and close the waffle iron. Cook about 10 min. Amazing, crunchy and pretty too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicke Fitzgerald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
3/15: very good followed exactly except much less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fantastic recipe. Put in the proper time & effort to squeeze as much of the moisture out as you can - you will be super impressed with the results! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
These are great potato pancakes aka Latkas. I used 4 large russet potatoes, about 2 pounds. Water and starch are the enemy of crispy potatoes - here are a couple of tips. Peel and place the potatoes in cold water. I grate the potatoes and onion using the grater attachment on the food processor. Then back into cold water in the basket of a salad spinner. Rinse well and change the water a few times to remove the starch. Once the water is almost clear, let soak completely covered in cold water in the basket of the salad spinner. Whisk the eggs, flour, salt pepper together. Drain the potatoes and spin them dry, empty the water out of the salad spinner bowl - shake the potatoes and spin them again. Mix the dried potatoes with the egg mixture - it will appear as if there is not quite enough egg mixture but don't worry, there is plenty. Use tongs or a slotted spoon to scoop the potatoes out and into the hot oil. Do NOT move the patties until the edges are crispy. Flip and continue cooking over medium heat until golden brown. Heat you oven to 170 degrees and place the potato pancakes on a paper towel lined sheet pan in the warm oven to hold while you make the next batch. If you don't have a salad spinner, Chef John's method of squeezing and drying with paper towels works OK or use a clean thin cotton dish towel and wring them out with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States