Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe. Does need heavy seasoning - even though I seasoned meat extremely well, it still needed additional seasoning at the end. I made a couple of days before so flavors could blend in refrigerator and added creme fraiche before serving - used less creme fraiche than recipe called for; definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe sounded so good. It tasted good but was way too rich for my taste. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
oh my gosh, i think that i have made this recipe about 4 times now....it is a fantastic dinner and often requested by my picky husband. i usually double the shrooms and onions just because we like a lot of veggies. i DO make my own creme fraiche as chef suggests, it is extremely easy, just consists of cultured buttermilk and heavy whipping cream. you just need to start it 2 days before you will be making the stroganoff. it is so much better than sour cream because you can actually simmer it without seperation and reduce the sauce. well worth the very minimal effort. be patient when browning your mushrooms, because at first they will appear to just be stewing in their own juices, but then, the water evaporates, but the butter does not, and they begin to brown beautifully. it usually takes me about 15 minutes to get to this point. this is a wonderful tip i learned from chef john, before i rushed them and they never got brown....just have to be a bit patient! anyway, served this on hot buttered poppyseed egg noodles (papadelle from trader joes) and a nice pickled cucumber and onion salad. thank for reading :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great, easy recipe! But then most of Chef John's are. Used sour cream, beef tenderloin, and fresh vegetables. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is hands down one of the best beef stroganoff recipes I have had in a long time. I did use stew meat and just made sure to brown it good and let it rest a bit and simmered a little longer. Made recipe exactly as written but added an additional 3 Tbs. flour mixed in with some broth to tighten it up a little. The creme fraiche really seals the deal you don't have to go crazy to buy it. If you know you will make this then you can make your own. In a non reactive container mix 1cup heavy cream with 1Tbs of buttermilk or plain yogurt and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Leave out at room temp. around 72 degrees for 24 hours stir once and a while 8 hours or so but not necessary. Warming the cream a little will speed things up a little and it can be used in as little as 12 hours but will not have the consistency you may want. It can go as long as 36 hours I find 24 or so just right. Can be stored in tight container in frige for up to 10 days the cold will stop the fermentation and you Can make ahead. Also great for creamed recipes and potatoes. This recipe is a keeper for sure. I know I will be making it a part of the rotation. Serve over wide egg noodles its great. Be sure to make extra I bumped recipe to ten servings to have some leftovers for lunch you will be glad you did. Reheats well just slow simmer. Happy cooking, GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe very much. I did not use mushrooms as some of the kids do not like them. We also used red wine (homemade) in place of the white. We added some frozen parsley, rosemary and thyme from our garden along with a few tablespoons of tomato paste. Beef broth was also homemade. We subbed the creme fraiche with fat free mayo as there are lactose/soy restrictions. Served over homemade noodles. Tasty recipe that did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I didn't change a thing. I adjusted salt, pepper, and creme fraiche to taste, as instructed. This was the most amazing Stroganoff recipe I have ever tasted. Next up- Chef John's Swedish Meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Tried it last night - made it for my boyfriend who loves mushrooms. I followed the ingredients exactly, except for the sour cream for creme fraiche. I had 2 hours before I needed to eat and had to run an errand, so I after I cooked the veggies and the sauce had simmered and thickened, I poured it and the meat into my slow cooker and cooked it on high for the 2 hours - turned out great! Next time - I'd like more sauce - so I'll probably add more liquid (beef broth, wine), and the bf likes more sour cream in the sauce. Besides what I did due to time, it is a really good recipe, and one that doesn't need to be tweaked which is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious!! The meat was so tender and the sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Beef stroganoff is my husbands favorite dish. This is now his favorite stroganoff recipe. I only used rounds steak but bc you cook it for an hour it was so tender and good. I followed the recipe exactly other than that. OMG. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States