Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I think my recipe box will now be filled with mostly Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent...simple, good ingredients and the wine brings out such a pleasant flavor. I have made Chef John's recipe several times and I do use sour cream and a add a half cup of Parmesan cheese at the end. And yes, serve over butter noodles....excellent! Thank you John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is soooo good! Made Chef John's crème fraiche a couple days before and used it - followed recipe as written and it was wonderful! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband wanted stroganoff for his birthday dinner and I couldn't just make the condensed soup kind for his birthday. So I found this recipe - SO good! It totally lived up to the 81 (soon to be 82) 5 star ratings that it had! Not too complicated, but it does take an hour of simmering to complete - so make sure you plan accordingly! We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my grandmas, I love the video it really helped me learn how to get great flavors into this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was gorgeous. But its just missing that final something and I'll be damned if I can figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and served over egg noodles. I loved it! Just keep in mind that it is nothing like the hamburger helper stroganoff you might be use to but it is super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We definitely love this stroganoff. I have used both the chuck roast and other cuts; it turns out great. I added extra broth instead of the wine, and used about a half cup of sour cream in place of the creme fraiche. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It turned out pretty salty, not sure why! I followed the directions almost exactly...I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! Don't forget to make your creme fraiche 2 days before you prepare this dish. The creme fraiche is so easy to make and really tops the dish. I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States