Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was pretty good. I accidentally forgot to buy white wine, so I ended up using white wine vinegar instead. That was the only change I made. It was definitely a mistake, but I did not remove the star for that, since I don't think it's right to rate down a recipe if you've made changes. I did not add any extra liquid, though, and the sauce was a little too runny for my taste. I think I might even have used less liquid. I will try it again with actual white wine, but I suspect it will still be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I cut the recipe in half which was really silly of me, because I’m already craving for more. I was a little hesitant about make it, because the girlfriend is not a big fan of cooked mushrooms. I even had two thumbs-up from her which surprised me. Followed the recipe, it was somewhat time consuming but the trick is to be patient and let that liquid evaporate and let that meat and mushrooms brown nicely, it is totally worth it. I used stored bought crème fraîche. Next time I’ll take the time to make it. I’ll be cooking a full batch next time and then some, trust me. This one is a keeper. Thanks Chef John! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes thus far. I make this now every two weeks and my family can't get enough. I don't change the recipe at all and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for dinner last night and it was fantastic. even better the next day when I had some for lunch. I did this in my pressure cooker which I cooked the for 30 minutes using stew meet, cut, which i cut into small cube. I had never used creme fraiche, but don't skip. I think this is what makes the meal! Better than using sour cream. I couldn't find it near the cheese or sour creams. It was near the deli, where the imported cheeses were. Thanks Chef Jon for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Miller Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This came out fabulous! Cutting the chuck steak into strips was the hardest part. They browned up beautifully and the sauce was a nice dark rich brown. I used 3 TB flour and it was the perfect consistancy by the end. I tasted for seasoning and it didn't need any addition salt and pepper. I did season the meat quite generously before browning. It did however taste a bit sour so I added about a 1/2 ts. of sugar and that did the trick! The meat was so tender after cooking for about an hour and 15 minutes. No knife needed! My husband raved throughout the entire meal. Served on buttered parmesan egg noodles with cresent rolls on the side. A must try for anyone who loves stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is my favorite meal of all time. So I've tried a LOT of recipes. So far, THIS recipe FAR outshines any I've tried. I tried this recipe every way possible, with creme fraiche, with sour cream (creme fraich WON!), with stew meat, with chuck, (both were same), and then 1 more time with the two changes I wanted to try, that my other "favorite Beef Stroganoff" has. They are as follows... I usually slice my meat on the diagonal, (stew meat is impossible, ask me how I know), and I add garlic salt, paprika and thyme if I have fresh in the garden. (I LOVE thyme, so it's optional) ! AND, I'm shocked that Chef John didn't add cayenne!! LOL! Hope these changes help find that "what's missing?" for those that felt that way. i'd have added a picture of each, except I canNOT figure out how to send a pix from my I-phone 4 to A/R. Hey Chef John, thanks SO much for the terrific recipe & if you need another idea of what to try, I would LOVE your version of Chicken a'la King! and/or bread pudding. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is wonderful! I only made a few minor changes. 1 I used baby bellas, and only 5 to 6 ounces (because most of the family are not big mushroom fans), I accidentally used 2 tablespoons of butter in stead of 1, and added an extra tablespoon of flour because we like the sauces a bit thicker. and I used sour cream cause I didn't have the creme fraiche. I forgot to add the flour to the pan, so I whisked it into the second cup of broth. it worked perfect. This was sooo tasty that I could have eaten the whole thing right then and there. we made quick work of that meal. there is barely one leftover meal. LOL! this was GREAT! definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Better than America's test kitchen's recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was incredible! We used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States